More Proactive SIMs

AT&T inspired me to explore a little more.

David Allen Burgess
Telecom Experts

--

After my encounter with proactive SMS from an AT&T SIM, I decided to start checking other SIMs as well. I know nearly all SIMs support proactive features, but I am interested to see just how many SIMs actually use them. So I have set up my test bench to test the SIMs I have.

The SIMs

In this first round, I am limiting my testing to SIMs from the big “tier-1” operators, SIMs that are use by large numbers of people. Here is what I have on-hand:

  • AT&T (already covered but listed here for completeness)
  • Verizon
  • T-Mobile USA
  • Vodafone Romania
  • Orange Romania

All of these SIMs were issued between 2014 and 2019.

The Test Bench

The test bench is the same as in the first article, repeated here for convenience:

  • The SIMTrace2 tool, which sits between the SIM and the phone, allowing us to sniff the communication between them.
  • A host phone. I used an Allview Soul.

--

--

David Allen Burgess
Telecom Experts

I have worked in telecom since 1998, in both SIGINT and in commercial equipment. I also do expert work in legal cases, see http://telecom-expert.com.