Confessions from a novice product designer

What to expect from a structured reality and how to disentangle yourself without feeling overwhelmed by deadlines.

Claudiasaffioti
Telepass Digital
4 min readNov 8, 2023

--

Hey! I am Claudia, I am 24 years old, I am one of the youngest colleagues in an office of 600 people, and this is my first experience in a company.

Entering a more structured world, like in a corporate setting, can be intimidating, especially if you’re new and unsure of your role within the team. Initially, everything seems great, and each day is a discovery, but at the same time, you might experience a sense of inadequacy when you face your first challenges. However, you can use some strategies to avoid overwhelming.

No one is born knowing everything

This is a golden rule when starting any new job. Every day is an opportunity to learn and make mistakes, and there’s nothing wrong with that. When you step into more structured environments, there are many things to consider, and it can be daunting initially. But remember that those around you can be your best allies in overcoming these initial moments. Don’t hesitate to ask for help when you need it and engage in discussions with others; you’ll benefit greatly from it.

I, too, felt that ‘newbie’ sensation initially and was afraid to ask for help. Over time, I realized it wouldn’t get me anywhere, and even now, after almost a year, I admit that there are times when I have to push myself to seek assistance. There’s nothing wrong with it, and you won’t be judged, trust me.

Your background

Your background is one of the many things you shouldn’t abandon. Whether you have a humanities background, are an illustrator, or have no connection to the world of design, my advice is not to discard that part of yourself.

During a job interview, you won’t be evaluated solely for the specific items on your CV, but for how those items influence your work and set it apart from others. You might not use all your skills every day, but if you’re interested in keeping them alive, you’ll surely find time in your day to do so. For example, one of my biggest passions is freehand drawing, and in the digital world, it’s unlikely that analog drawing and UX will intersect or have much to do with each other.

To keep this part of me alive, I always have a notepad and pen on my desk. I often can’t “see” the solution on the screen and need to draw it out on paper. I use this skill to create storyboards and draw flows to make them clear to me and my colleagues before starting an actual UX draft. Drawing involves not only “imagining” but also “thinking in images,” visually, and this helps everyone understand, both designers and non-designers. Believe me, this small trick has helped me a lot in recent months. I used it even when I was in university, and it never let me down.

Extra tips

Workshops, training courses, online events, and such all depend on what you need at the moment. So, don’t stress too much about chasing the latest event that everyone will attend or participating in that specific workshop with the best designer in the field. There are no strict rules about what to do or not to do, so don’t stress out too much about it.

The strategy I’ve chosen is to attend offline events to physically connect with professionals, who may not be in your field, while also enjoying some time outside the work context. Remember that in the professional world, you’re not only judged for your work but also for how you talk about it. If you’re passionate about your work and can express it in words, you’re all set.

Don’t forget the importance of formal education, where the ultimate goal is to feed and enhance your knowledge, maintaining a curious attitude towards your work.

My two cents

Have fun. It may seem obvious, but it can make a big difference, especially at the beginning. If, like me, you often go to the office, I suggest reaching out to colleagues you don’t see every day or who aren’t in your field.

You might learn new aspects of their work and gain valuable insights. Interact during a coffee break or lunch, try to build relationships beyond work topics. What I’ve understood and continue to learn is that, regardless of the field we’re in, we all work toward the same goal and share the same anxieties.

Be yourself and don’t worry too much; everything will be fine.

This article was written by Claudia Saffioti, Junior Product Designer, and edited by Marta Milasi, UX Content Lead at Telepass. Interested in joining our team? Check out our open roles!

--

--