Fake Rock & Roll Autographs May Outnumber the Real Ones!

The vast majority of Elvis and Beatles autographs on the market are forgeries

Neal Umphred
Tell It Like It Was

--

Fake Beatles signatures by Beatles righthand man Mal Evans from the ’60s. (Photo: Gotta Have Rock and Roll)

STARTING IN 1980, you could find my ads selling used records in publications like Goldmine magazine. I was good at finding moderately collectable records in exceptional condition and selling them at reasonable prices. I specialized in ’50s and ’60s rock & roll, but sold whatever came my way. What I didn’t sell were autographs, which I thought was mostly a rather corrupt business.

The first time someone contacted me via telephone and asked if I had any “signed Dylan albums,” I replied, “Hell, yes! I have as many as you want.”

“Huh?” the puzzled prospective buyer grunted.

“Sure,” I continued. “What do you want them to say?”

“Huh?”

I told him that I had a friend who did a pretty good Dylan signature and that I’d have him write whatever the buyer wanted on the album jacket. “My friend only charges $10,” I added jovially, “and I don’t take a thing for providing the service.”

“You’re telling me you’re offering to sell me a fake Dylan autograph?” he asked.

“Yup,” I said. “See, that’s what separates me from everybody else: I tell you upfront that it’s…

--

--

Neal Umphred
Tell It Like It Was

Mystical Liberal likes long walks in the city at night in the rain alone with an umbrella and flask of 10-year-old Laphroaig.