Make a Difference in The Community…I Hope

A chronicle of my experience as an AT&T 28 Days team member

Dan Miller
2 min readJan 30, 2014

Black History Month continually serves as a period of reflection for me. Reflection on what my aunt thought about, as a black college student in the south during the civil rights movement. Contemplation on how normal it has become to see Barack Obama deliver a State of the Union address. Reflection on how I can become good enough to inspire the next generation of unstoppable thought leaders, black, and otherwise.

I typically dedicate the month of February to my own research into things I am personally interested in, and how either African-American culture or specific African-Americans have influenced such things. A sort of self curated African diaspora course. This year however, will be different.

Word came last week that I was selected as member of one of three teams competing for AT&T’s annual 28 Days campaign. This years 28 Days campaign is all about encouraging people to use their talents, passions and social networks to raise awareness for important community initiatives.

I’m on the technology team with three other team members and technology journalist, Wayne Sutton. My team is dedicating the month of February to making history happen by helping the Oakland Digital Arts & Literacy Center (ODALC) continue to increase digital literacy and opportunity among small business owners, local design students and entrepreneurs. Oakland Digital is a really dope cause with contagiously passionate leadership.

Each week in February, my team will earn points for completing challenges for the Oakland Digital Arts & Literacy Center and building awareness on social media. To support our team, and the mission of the Oakland Digital Arts & Literacy Center, follow our progress at att.com/28days, and share our videos on Twitter using the hashtag, #28DaysODALC.

Additionally, I’ll be documenting all of my experiences throughout the challenges here on Medium. For even more up to date insight into my day to day, follow me on twitter @DanMillerSF.

This month will undoubtedly be interesting, inspiring, and enlightening. I just hope we successfully inspire change and make a difference in the community.

--

--