How a surfboard to the head changed the way I think

In life we often take for granted the freedom to move, jump, run and dance. A recent incident involving a surf board left me with a throbbing head. 3 stitches later I was reminded of how precious the health of my body was to me.

The result of this accident has meant two weeks out of the water. Which at any other time of my previous wall to wall office bound life would be great. However, having recently acquired the ocean as my new office this is time off I can do without!

This incapacitation has left me in what is known as the “surf hut”. A bit like the waiting place from Dr Seuss “Oh the places you’ll go”. I’m left with an uneasy feeling, constantly twitching while the hair of irritation slowly rises and falls as the day dissipates into night and my shift is finally over. No this waiting place is not for me. I’m a strong believer in the philosophy of “All things happen for a reason”. I began to ponder upon my predicament and search for the light in this seemingly dark tunnel.

And yes this is a reminder to maybe slow down and appreciate my body for what it allows me to do every day. It is the temple in which I reside and is the only one I have, so I guess “use it caringly” springs to mind.

Granted this small incident could have been worse, an eye could have been lost, limbs could have been taken and the gruesome list could grow, but one simple truth remains: Your health is your wealth.

So for now my Asana routine has dwindled to what is appropriate, meditation and pranayama have been tailored, reflection time has been increased and more care into what I feed my temple has been taken. And so the hair of irritation that once raised itself is beaten down with the stick of clarity and reason as I begin to see the positives.

For today I will count my blessings, which includes: the food on my table, the thoughts I think, the body I live in, the friends I have, my teachers and their teachers, the rising of the sun and the gifts of mother earth.

So if you are incapacitated to any degree try and see the positives, and find ways to grow your-self out of a seemingly negative situation. Namaste.

--

--

the Soulful Surfer
Life Hack: Your Story, Experience, etc

A collection of experiences and lessons from the Soulful Surfer as he journeys through life.