How many selfies does it take to get just the right look?

Karen DeBonis
Life Hack: Your Story, Experience, etc
2 min readMay 29, 2017

May 18, 2017 / Karen DeBonis

Photo courtesy Pixabay

A while ago, I blogged about my dislike for listicles and their prevalence on the internet. I wanted to include a photo of the face that I’m pretty sure I make when my news and social media feeds are overrun with listicle click-bait.

The face is a kind of WTF look.

I set out to capture that exact expression. In my mind’s eye, I could picture it. My facial muscle- memory could recreate it. I practiced in front of a mirror to be sure I had it right. Yup. Nailed it.

Then I got my cell phone and snapped away.

Well, about 50 selfies later, in at least a dozen different poses in two different rooms, I still wasn’t convinced that I completely replicated my WTF look.

Later, looking at my phone, face after face, I was laughing so hard I thought I would pee my pants. So I finally took some of the best shots and put them together in a short montage.

Enjoy!

Karen DeBonis “That Face”

That’s it for my blog this week. As you are reading this, I’m probably recovering from surgery that I’ve been waiting to get for several years. Believe it or not, I had to get better before I could get “fixed.” (Not “fixed” like a dog. Puh-leese.) And I did get better, so yay surgery! I think.

I’ll be waiting for the universe to send me positive vibes from all your laughter. And … I know this is a cheap shot, but … if I came back to my page and saw lots and lots of likes and shares, well, that would be the best medicine.

If you don’t hear from me next week, know that I’ll be wisely taking care of myself, on the couch binge-watching recordings of my favorite junk shows on TLC, wading through the six library books I stocked up on, napping, and cautiously avoiding listicles.

If I think of it, I’ll take a few selfies.

Karen blogs about her wild adventures as a homebody, including writing (aka avoiding housework), meditating (aka napping), and serving a nightly smorgasbord to deer and other critters in her yard (aka gardening). She lives in a wonderfully emptied nest in upstate New York with her husband of 34 years.

Find Karen on FaceBook and on Twitter @karendebonis.

Or send her an email here: karen@thewellnestedlife.com. She’s twiddling her green thumbs waiting to hear from you. If you don’t hear right back, she’s probably napping.

Originally published at www.thewellnestedlife.com.

--

--

Karen DeBonis
Life Hack: Your Story, Experience, etc

My memoir “Growth: A Mother, Her Son, and the Brain Tumor They Survived" was released in May 2023. Sign up for my newsletter at www.karendebonis.com