The Force is Strong in This One

Eliott Sanchez
Life Hack: Your Story, Experience, etc
3 min readJun 25, 2015

--

My journey through tech started with Star Wars

LIGHTSABERS AND CELLPHONES

I remember watching Star Wars as a kid and trying to figure out how everything worked. I wondered how the hell those ships moved so fast, and what made R2D2 work? I was 7 years old but I wanted to know so much about technology. I started to picture how these concepts could become reality. I read about NASA and I looked into computers and software. I became absorbed by it. I felt as if I spoke the language.

I mean, I understood Star Wars wasn’t real, but it awakened a part of my imagination. The need to understand the functionality of things became a driving force in my self education.

Me as a munchkin

I day dreamed of making my computer into C3PO like Anakin did. My imagination drove me to immerse myself in tech from an early age.

I started taking apart my toys and my computer attempting to figure out how to put it back together just to understand the key functions of each piece. In the process I began to realize how each piece was essential. How each one of the components depended on the other. And how without hardware, software struggled and vice versa.

I started making connections, attempting to figure out algorithms in everyday things. Like the elevator! I’d get a kick out of guessing which elevator would stop on our floor. It also made video games a lot more fun. I could guess the computers next move and figure out the programming to find flaws and loopholes in their systems. I wasn’t a cheater but I was crafty.

My explorations altered the way I perceived the world around me.

My mom still teases me about the time I took apart her cell phone just to understand where the antennas were and how the buttons were able to tell the system who to call and what to do. She laughs every time. I channel that part of myself at every opportunity. The curiosity of attempting to understand ambiguity.

I came to understand why things worked the way they did. I wanted to change it, to become a part of something so much greater and leave something behind.

I dove into it; I learned about networking, programming, computer engineering, aerospace and aeronautics. I was fascinated by everything that had been created but enthralled by what wasn’t. There was so much left to be created, molded by the passions and imagination of people brought together by the desire of change and advancement.

Tech has the ability to change the way people do things and as a result it affects the why. Through manipulation of simplicity something so everyday can be reimagined and adapted into an entirely new idea. The power to create things and build is inherent in human nature. We have the ability to make something entirely new if we want.

The potential and intricacies of tech are really what makes me a junkie, and my desire to understand it doesn’t help either.

Does tech inspire you?

I’m Eliott! If you liked my article feel free to hit that recommend button! I’d love to hear from you! Tell me your story of Tech. Every Journey is different and I want to hear about it!

All my info is on my website EliottSanchez.com

--

--