The Show to Rock Out To

Holly Rihan
Life Hack: Your Story, Experience, etc
2 min readSep 7, 2015

If rock ‘n’ roll is the soundtrack to your life there are a few shows that you can flock to, my choice is the one show that comes to my home-town every year. That’ll Be The Day turns up every summer and Christmas with a new show to entertain without fail. This year marks the 30th anniversary of the show and the performance didn't disappoint.

From the birth of the rock ‘n’ roll in the 50’s, to swinging in the 60’s, followed by 70's glam rock and occasionally touching on the decade the show began, the 80's. That’ll Be The Day embraces the wealth of music from these past decades with precision and affection. For me, as someone who isn’t thrilled by modern music, these decades birthed the best music ever written and captured the spirit of those generations. Simple perhaps but that just makes it all the easier to sing along to.

Not that the music of the 90’s is overly difficult to sing-a-long to but somehow the era of the boyband in which I grew up just doesn't cut it. And as we moved into the noughties it didn't improve much. Though I can think of a hand full of stand-out bands they’re nothing compared to the likes of Elvis, Johnny Cash, The Rolling Stones, or a favourite of mine, The Kinks.

I see a show like That’ll Be The Day as the closest I'm ever going to get to seeing these greats live. Yes I'm normally the young person in the audience surrounded by a sea of white clouds of hair and beige jumpers, but who cares? Yes they stare at me wondering why I'm there, glaring at me because I know all the words to every song but hopefully I prove that some of us youth do love and respect what’s come before.

And if you’re not sure you could sit through three hours of rocking out don’t worry, to balance out the onslaught on rock ‘n roll nostalgia there are hilarious skits and comedy sketches scattered throughout and Trevor Payne’s Jagger is truly something to behold. This show truly is a love letter to the genre and along with cracking tunes are some passionate and heartfelt tributes to the greats that are no longer with us. This anniversary show saw homages to Buddy Holly, Elvis and Whitney Houston. But perhaps the most poignant and beautifully done was the tribute to the recently lost Cilla Black.

This is show where you can have a giggle, a dance and sing-a-long to your hearts content without looking like lunatic.

--

--