Three Days in Medialand…

Holly Rihan
Life Hack: Your Story, Experience, etc
3 min readJul 14, 2015

The media industry, it doesn’t get more vague than that. Saying you want to work in media is like saying you want to eat food. Though it can be hard to be more specific when you’ve only got your education behind you. A national diploma in advanced media and a degree in film and creative writing, you’d think that would help me narrow the field — no. A year after graduating and still no closer, sure I have my dream job in mind but how do I get there? Which yellow brick road do I take? And looking for an everyday job to help get by is hard enough never mind breaking into ‘the media’.

After university, like so many do, I fell into the realm of unemployment. So down the job centre I shuffled to hand a job sheet full of jobs I neither wanted nor would’ve got. Six months rolls by like clockwork until I take a placement in a business sector I have zero interest in. Why? Simple, all experience is good experience. Housing is not my passion but working in that office I’ve gained valuable transferable skills that I can take with me everywhere. And built great relationships that will stay with me, bottom line — I stumbled on a job that I could get something out of other than money.

And now in my final week with the housing company they swing me some work experience they know I’ve been in need of. Three days at IADigital.

I looked at their flashy website and an image of the office formed in my head, the classic image of ‘the media’ — classy, suited professionals having serious conversations about media stuff. Wrong. With a project board that uses post-it notes and an Orwellian poster that reads ‘Obey, never trust your own eyes believe what you are told.’ I felt immediately comfortable. I’m welcomed in, included in the office banter, let in on a top secret project and given real work to do. Filing and photocopying are not on the agenda. My main contact, Dave McRobbie, makes sure I’m given a real experience of what it’s like to work for a digital agency.

Introductions are made, then a conversation is had between Dave and myself about what I want. What do I want? Where do I see myself in five years time? I didn’t have these answers and still don’t, but I had my dream so I told him about that. Dave had a perspective on my skills nobody had expressed before, that I have the foundations to work in the industry I just need to use the tools more effectively. Basically I need to level up the skills I already have.

To help me do that I spent a day with IADigital’s marketing guru Annie Talboys. Writing blogs, doing research, and even imparting my own knowledge and perspective on their top secret project. I didn’t expect to be treated like a member of the team, though I’m not sure why. IADigital is a small team oozing with personality not some faceless soulsucking media corporation. They recognised my talents, helped me when I needed it and offered constructive feedback.

I may be a touch cynical as I do believe I got lucky with IADigital, I could’ve had work experience in one of the many other small agencies in this town and just been treated like an intern who is there to file paperwork and make tea. This has been a truly positive experience and I will be taking away not just a few days experience but new contacts and confidence in my skillset that I didn’t have before.

--

--