Working on your passion

Work and Passion

Why people confuse the two

David Lee
Life Hack: Your Story, Experience, etc
4 min readMar 7, 2017

--

For the majority of those who went to college, our intentions were very clear. Earn a degree so you could go out into the working world and make an income. You had vacations planned, future homes and cars, a family to support or a lavishly decorated suite in the nice part of town.

Yet, there are more of us who after 10 years of slaving away at a job grow tired of the mundane and see ourselves not moving anywhere. We’re not moving up the ladder or down, we’re sort of stuck.

I believe that’s the worst thing to happen because contentment and mediocrity start to sit in. Now I will say this, it’s not the case where the only alternative is to start a business or go out on your own. What I share (always) is to bring to light your frustration, angst, remorse and guilt so that you can be better equipped to make a practical decision.

The worst thing you can in your life is to be 85 years old and have regret.

How do I know?

Aging and regret

In college I worked a chain of pharmacies delivering RX to local homes, businesses, retirement and convalescent homes. One E-Motion I saw I witnessed at the retirement and convalescent homes was strictly the lack of E-Motion. No one moved, no one cared, it was as if the soul was sucked out of these poor folks.

I spoke to many of them because 99% of them didn’t have family or friends to visit them. Me delivering their prescription to their door was the highlight of their day — another human being to actual talk to. Out of all of the conversations the one that struck a cord with me (at that time being 22 years old) was,

“Don’t grow old like me, regretting much of what I didn’t do in life”.

Having regrets in life

The Early Days

As I moved on from college and began my late start in Information Technology…

(computers and tech have always been a passion of mine)

I vigorously spent 7 years climbing the corporate ladder. Starting in call center support, desk-side support, moving up to systems administration and then to global infrastructure management for engineering companies with top line revenue between 100 million to 10 billion.

What I didn’t realize at the time was where I was going was not what I had imagined it to be. Sure I set a 10 year goal for myself to move to orange county and work in tech after I graduated high school, I did that.

After years of sacrificing much for someone else, I started to become content, to be okay with where I was. Nothing against the companies I worked for, it was simply time for me to move on because work wasn’t a passion any longer — it was a pay check and that my friends can never buy happiness.

Money can’t buy happiness

Take Away

If there’s one thing you can take away from my experience and history, it’s that your life truly is unwritten. You are the director, the producer and writer of your story/film/composition.

You don’t have to have entrepreneurial vibrance to be happy — you only need to do what’s right for you. What is that? I can’t tell you, no one can.

If you do find yourself hating the 9–5 grind then it’s up to you to do something about it. That may mean switching careers, still working for someone else because it’s practical, and loving what you do!

It might mean leaving your job to start your own niche business and that’s fine too friend.

Just remember these 3 things,

“Be, Do, Have…

Be the right person, Do the right thing, and you’ll Have what it is you’re looking for”

With Love and Strength,

David Lee — The P.O.W.E.R Coach

I hope you enjoyed reading this rant, philosophical expression, psycho-something or other post!

If you have 1 second (just one!) please comment or ❤ the post if you liked it! I believe in communication and community which is why i’m here.

Thanks a bunch and follow me around on my journey as a Powerlifter, Yoga Teacher, Holistic Lifestyle Coach and Techie.

Namaste!

Twitter Facebook Instagram P.O.W.E.R

--

--

David Lee
Life Hack: Your Story, Experience, etc

Cinematographer | Commercial DP | Documentary Filmmaker www.legendarymediahouse | www.atdavidlee.com