Peaches! My All-time Favorite Fruit

I Ate My Best Tasting Peach in Washington D.C.

Lisa Marcelina
Tell Your Story
3 min readApr 27, 2021

--

Image by Alicja from Pixabay

I love peaches! I first tasted peaches when I visited Washington D.C in 2005. My aunt brought home these big, round, reddish-yellowish fruit with a dimple.

When I picked it up the fuzzy, furry texture fascinated me. Just the feel of it had me wondering, “could you really eat this?”.

I bit into it and ohhhh, the taste was just heavenly. The flesh inside was a bright yellow colour and the juice ran down my throat like a happy child gliding down a slide.

Living on a tropical island there is no shortage of fruit. Mangoes, pineapples, watermelon, and pawpaw (papaya) just to name a few. But when I tasted that peach, it became my all-time favorite fruit.

Peaches are imported here, so that makes it very expensive. I don’t know where they are imported from exactly, but they are nothing like those peaches I tasted in Washington D.C. That’s why every time I visit the U.S. the first thing I do is go get me some peaches.

My visits to Washington, D.C. were with my mom. But she has long since stopped traveling, so my vacations are now to Atlanta, Georgia. Yep, Georgia, the “Peach State”.

When I visited in 2019, I made sure and called ahead and told my family to make sure there were peaches waiting for me when I got there. And there they were. As I entered the kitchen there were peaches, bananas and plums nicely laid out, all colorful and decorative on the kitchen table. I wasted no time. I had me my peach.

Peach, the Forbidden Fruit?

Sometimes I wonder if the forbidden fruit in the Garden of Eden was a peach. If so, no wonder Eve couldn’t resist. In many stories it is depicted as an apple, but I see it as a peach.

When the woman saw that the fruit of the tree was good for food and pleasing to the eye, and also desirable for gaining wisdom, she took some and ate it. Genesis 3:6 NIV

Now I don’t know what Eve saw in the fruit that was desirable for gaining wisdom, but if it was a peach, it makes a lot of sense to me. She probably knew just by looking at it that it was high in nutrients and antioxidants, which are good for the brain.

Peach Personality

I am not into astrology, but I read on this website that a person who loves peaches enjoy the juice of life. They are friendly, frank and outspoken. Am I friendly? Yes. Outspoken? No. But as a good friend, I am quick to forgive and forget and do value my friendships highly. That’s why I choose my friends very carefully.

I do enjoy life and try not to let anything get me down, and I bounce back quickly from the storms of life. Mostly because I have a close relationship with God, and I allow him to direct my life. But peaches have a role to play too. Whenever I eat one, I am in my happiest moment.

Interestingly, while I had the opportunity of eating peaches from the Peach State of Georgia, my best tasting peach was the one I had in Washington D.C. I can still remember that first peach, its taste and texture.

If peaches weren’t so expensive here, I would have one every day. But even though I can’t have one as often as I like, they would always be my all-time favorite fruit.

--

--

Lisa Marcelina
Tell Your Story

Lisa began writing from an early age and her goal is to become a published author one day. Visit her blog at: https://www.lisamarcelina.net