The Battle for the Crown

Bob Mildenhall
Tell Your Story
Published in
5 min readJun 26, 2021

--

The coveted Crown (Photo) Papin Lab

Writer’s Note: I thought this story might be a little dated with the references to Covid back in 2020. However, my son is in basic training for the Army National Guard for six months as of July 5th, 2022, and reading this makes me miss him even more. So, I decided to submit it. Note the horse reference in the story and my son’s training after basic. Go Fort Benning E2–15 Calvary!

War, on the high seas. Not for the meek of heart.

Las Vegas, Nevada, summers require having a swimming pool or access to one. Our swimming pool, the canvas for our entertainment, has a rich history of battles won and lost.

I’m on the battlefield, in a swimming pool, on my horse, a pool float. My sword, a pool noodle, is purple, the color of royalty. I am King Bob. The ceremonial blowing water out of the pool noodle hole (not as easy as it sounds) is complete, and the battle will soon begin — the action of old versus young, reckless youth and seasoned warrior, and yes, father versus son.

Prince Eric (my son) looks very confident on his steed. He has wanted the Crown for years. He feels the time is now to assume control. I must disagree, which has caused a split in the kingdom.

I try and reason with him. “Your very actions prove you’re not yet fit to wear the Crown. A King brings people together.” My words mean nothing. I also have pride; I am not ready to give up the Crown (procured from Burger King in a daring raid).

We are back! The pool is open, and this summer of 2021 promises to be one of the most hotly contested of all the years of battle Eric and I have done. Covid 19, in March of 2020, forced the initial closure of the swimming pools and our favorite summertime activity to be postponed. However, the closure was extended through the summer by the end of June. So, Eric and I could not cool off in either of the two pools that the community maintains. What a disappointment! We would not be able to feel that initial cold, crisp shock diving into the pool before the Las Vegas sun warmed the pool water to bathtub temperature. How do you replace a swimming pool?

Prince Eric makes the first advance. Slashing with his sword while maneuvering to my side, my horse sustains an injury to his neck. It is not a deep wound, but I fall back to regroup. Sensing fear, Prince Eric pushes forward and delivers two more blows to my horse, the second one fatal. Jumping off to avoid him falling on me, I am now on foot, defending myself from Prince Eric’s barrage of sword strikes. A sword slashes my left arm, rendering it useless. I have but one choice, an all-out offensive. I muster my energy and charge, capturing Prince Eric by surprise. I slash with my sword, injuring his arm, but fail to see the sword in his other hand sweeping in from the side, striking my head. The battle is over. I am defeated.

I have lost too many battles and horses.

There has been talk of a truce. I agree to meet Prince Eric alone on the battlefield to try and reach an agreement that benefits us both. His terms are ridiculous; I say, “Why waste my time with such anemic offerings?” The smile on his face tells me that he was never here to negotiate.

No horses, man against man.

He pulls his sword.

I pull my sword out and find myself almost immediately on the defensive. I did not expect a battle, a grievous error on my part. My reactions are slow, and his blade finds my head. The struggle is over. I am defeated. Again.

The war seems never to end, but on one day per year, our two nations gather and select representatives to engage in sports battles. It is called “The Games,” and any acts of war or violence are forbidden. Prince Eric and I will be competing in a game, which will take place in the Aquatic Center of the battlefield.

Each player starts at opposite ends of the pool. They both have small wooden sticks with a round mesh end to hold a small ball. One player has the ball, decided by coin flip before the match. To win, Player 1 needs to get from his end of the pool and touch Player 2’s wall with the ball in his stick. Player 2 starts from his end and, by any means necessary, tries to keep Player 1 from touching his wall. He must get the ball into his stick and touch Player 1’s wall to win. Grabbing, pushing, and other dirty tricks short of drowning the competitor is permissible and even encouraged.

The game starts. Prince Eric has the ball and makes his way toward me. As he begins to try and get by me, I reach over and flip his stick, causing the ball to fall in the water. Grabbing the ball, I make my way to his wall. Then I feel his arm shoving me down under the water, and I lose control of the ball. When I return to the surface, he has the ball in his stick and is halfway toward my wall. The Prince is too focused on making his way to the wall to notice I have come up behind him. I grab his legs, pulling him underwater. I take the ball from his stick and head back to his end, where I claim victory, touching the ball to the pool wall.

I missed that game the most because we laughed like crazy people trying to get that little ball from each other.

Threats of harm and ranks and titles being of no consequence today, father and son retire to the “Pool of Knowledge,” the hot tub in the Aquatic Center, a portal of peace and reflection. One can soothe the body’s ache from the day’s activities and calm the spirit.

It’s also a place where Eric and I have had some great conversations over the years.

We have created many different games because we have “horsed” around in the pool since Eric was six years old. He’s 17 now, and missing age 16 in the pool meant a summer’s memories that didn’t get made. Plus, that extra year saw him get taller and more muscular, making him much tougher to battle.

For 2021, we are bringing a floatable basketball hoop into the competition. Eric is going to get dunked on!

--

--

Bob Mildenhall
Tell Your Story

From White Rock B.C. Canada to Seattle, WA, and then the transformation to a desert dweller in Las Vegas, NV.