And Suddenly, It Happened

Sadly, at the end of the night, the sun always has to rise

Harmin Malzo
2 min readMay 8, 2020
Image by Enrique Meseguer from Pixabay

Out of nowhere, she appeared before my eyes. She was sitting alone trying to guess the taste of her coffee which, judging by her gestures, tasted different from any other. I left mine on the table and smiled just as her romance novel stare crossed mine. I shrugged, pointing at my cup.

And suddenly, it happened.

We were made for each other. I showed her my world, a little different from hers. Not a glance at the past. We were only going forward. We went into our desires. She was full of happiness.

And right away, Paris, Moscow, the Amazon, Barcelona before us… Places she daydreamed about, poking a heart for them on Instagram before going to sleep, and wishing to visit them before dying.

And suddenly, it happened.

So many places, so many desires, so many good times…, they were simply gone. A moment was enough to let her out of my sight. Just as she had appeared, she was gone. I was convinced she didn’t wish it that way.

Sadly, at the end of the night, the sun always has to rise.

I retraced my steps. Wishing to find her in those desires, in those moments, in those places, I had returned to the café.

I’ve been waiting for her ever since, patiently until the night comes when she dreams of me again.

--

--

Harmin Malzo

Spanish teacher going English writer. No awards or public recognition. Thanks for reading!