Code for Reading Windows Serialized Certificates

Clément Notin [Tenable]
Tenable TechBlog
Published in
5 min readJul 5, 2023

Problem description

On a Windows machine, we can find users’ certificates stored in files in C:\Users\<USER>\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\SystemCertificates\My\Certificates (i.e. “%APPDATA%\Microsoft\SystemCertificates\My\Certificates”). These files have seemingly random names (i.e. “3B86DFC25CFB1B47EB4CBF53FD4028239D0C690E”) and no extension. What is their format? How to open them in code? With which Windows APIs? 🤔

Let me spoil you with the answers right away, including code samples, and I’ll describe after what I tried and what I learned 💡

Answer: “serialized certificates” that can be opened using the CryptQueryObject() function

These files are “serialized certificates”. Surprisingly, even with this knowledge which wasn’t easy to discover, I did not find any Windows CryptoAPI function to directly open them!

Until I found CryptQueryObject: a very handy function that can open crypto objects with different formats. We can specify with the “dwExpectedContentTypeFlags” parameter the format(s) we expect, or accept all formats, and see what it detects. It returns notably:

  • pdwContentType: equal to “CERT_QUERY_CONTENT_SERIALIZED_CERT” in this case meaning that “the content is a serialized single certificate.”
  • ppvContext: pointer to a CERT_CONTEXT structure, in this case of a serialized certificate, which contains in particular:
  • pCertInfo: many metadata on the certificate with a CERT_INFO structure
  • pbCertEncoded: the certificate itself, so what we would expect to find in a classic .crt file

Simplified example usage:

CERT_CONTEXT* certContext = NULL;
if (!CryptQueryObject(
CERT_QUERY_OBJECT_FILE,
L"C:\\Users\\localuser1\\AppData\\Roaming\\Microsoft\\SystemCertificates\\My\\Certificates\\3B86DFC25CFB1B47EB4CBF53FD4028239D0C690E",
CERT_QUERY_CONTENT_FLAG_ALL,
CERT_QUERY_FORMAT_FLAG_ALL,
0,
NULL,
NULL,
NULL,
NULL,
NULL,
(const void**)&certContext
) || certContext == NULL)
{
if (certContext) CertFreeCertificateContext(certContext);
return false;
}

Alternative with the CertAddSerializedElementToStore() function

There’s also an alternative. By searching for CryptoAPI functions related to “serialized certificates” we can find this function: CertAddSerializedElementToStore. It can deal with such certificates but only to load them into a store… So, the idea is to:

  1. create a temporary store in memory, using CertOpenStore with “CERT_STORE_PROV_MEMORY” and “CERT_STORE_CREATE_NEW_FLAG
  2. load the serialized certificate into this temp store, using CertAddSerializedElementToStore
  3. this function returns the desired CERT_CONTEXT structure of the certificate (like above) in “ppvContext

It works properly and we get the same results, but it’s longer and less efficient I think.

How did I find that they are “serialized certificates”?

I found a comment online saying that we can open them in Windows by assigning them the “.sst” extension, which then allows to open them with a double-click. We can see in the explorer that this extension corresponds to “Microsoft Serialized Certificate Store”.

Knowing this, I found the CertOpenStore CryptoAPI function that seemed capable of opening those “Microsoft Serialized Certificate Store” files, but it refused to open this file…

I didn’t understand why, so I created a certificate store in memory and used the CertSaveStore function to export it as a serialized certificate store. And indeed, its content did not have exactly the same format. There was some header at the beginning, before the content with the same format as the one I had in the files I wanted to analyze. My guess was that this header was the certificate store header, and the rest was actually just the serialized certificate saved in the store! And this guess was correct based on the results I got afterwards 😉

Of course I also tried first to load these files with other more common extensions, like .crt, .pfx, .p12, etc. but none worked.

Why not use CertEnumCertificatesInStore?

My initial need was to enumerate the certificates for all users on the machine (provided my code is running privileged of course) so I tried first to use CertOpenStore targeting the “CERT_SYSTEM_STORE_USERS” system store. But when enumerating the certificates, with CertEnumCertificatesInStore, it did not return these certificates that I knew existed since I could see them in the certificates manager (certmgr.msc) when logged in as each user.

I discovered this issue when using Benjamin @gentilkiwi Delpy’s “mimikatz” tool. Of course Benjamin loves certificates and so he included an entire “crypto” module in his famous tool. (Yeah, it’s a good reminder that it has many other usages than just dumping credentials! 😉). The “crypto::certificates” command, which uses CertEnumCertificatesInStore, could not find any certificate in the “My” certificate store of another user accessed through the “CERT_SYSTEM_STORE_USERS” system store and as admin of course:

Even though there was indeed a certificate to see:

Actually, I could find the certificates when running as each user, and targeting the “CERT_SYSTEM_STORE_CURRENT_USER” system store:

So, it confirmed that the “CERT_SYSTEM_STORE_USERS” system store has a limitation. The only online confirmation I found is an 18 years old 😯 newsgroup post from a then Microsoft employee:

CERT_SYSTEM_STORE_USERS opens the registry stroes. so you can NOT use MY store with it.

What I noticed too is that, when using “CERT_SYSTEM_STORE_USERS”, it only goes looking for certificates into the registry only, and there’s none in this case. So these certificates, that are on disk only, are missed when using “CERT_SYSTEM_STORE_USERS”:

Whereas, it looks for certificates in the registry and on disk when using “CERT_SYSTEM_STORE_CURRENT_USER”:

Alternatives for parsing these certificates without the CryptoAPI

In particular, Benjamin @gentilkiwi Delpy kindly answered my question, and told me that there is the “crypto::system” mimikatz command which allows to parse these certificates, like this:

The code shows that he actually implemented the entire parsing himself without relying on Windows APIs! This is very interesting to discover how it works, and it can also be helpful for research, but I preferred to stick to the official CryptoAPI functions, or at least Windows APIs, to open these certificates. However, this alternative is worth mentioning!

Edit: it was brought to my attention that this article “Extracting Certificates From the Windows Registry” may cover the same topic, but I did not double-check their results. I also preferred to use an official Windows API instead of a custom parsing.

--

--

Clément Notin [Tenable]
Tenable TechBlog

Security researcher, working at Tenable Research https://www.tenable.com/research. Specialized in identity security (Active Directory / Entra ID)