Curious about a Day in the Life of a Cloud Marketing Intern at Tencent in Bangkok? :)

Cassie Chisanucha Chunchaowarit
Tencent (Thailand)
Published in
3 min readAug 5, 2022

Hi, my name is Cassie, a rising senior studying Global Health & Development and Marketing at The University of Hong Kong (HKU).

Super excited to share with you my experience working at Tencent (Thailand) as a Marketing Intern in the Cloud Department! Prior to getting the internship offer at Tencent, I was already a big fan of the company’s products (PUBG mobile, Call of Duty, JOOX) and aware of their super diverse and impressive Tech venture portfolio.

A little bit of my background

Going back to December 2021, I did not know what I wanted to do after graduation. I realized my major in ‘Global Health’ wasn’t really something I saw myself doing and I am much more interested in media and tech. As someone with zero background in the tech industry, I knew I had to work harder and focus on building my personal and career development. I also began searching for opportunities from media / tech companies.” You guessed it right, I also applied for Tencent :) A couple of months went by and I received the offer, YES!

Internship

It was an incredibly rewarding experience to be part of the world’s influential and leading tech company like Tencent. The best part about my internship was that I had two other co-interns in the Cloud (Marketing) team, who made the entire experience fun in a team-driven, wholesome way! The entire Tencent team consisted of bright and talented people, from different areas of expertise and I learned an invaluable lot from them.

My mentor encouraged us to take on new responsibilities where we had a chance to oversee the Tencent Cloud SEA business in 5 different countries; Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, Singapore, and Philippines. Upon working in the Cloud department, I had opportunities to expand my knowledge on cloud solutions, B2B marketing strategies, PR and Communications, copywriting, promotional events, and how different business industries can integrate and perform digital transformation in their business through different cloud solutions.

Throughout my internship at Tencent Thailand, I have been given so many opportunities to assist in preparing and organizing marketing events including Forbes Thailand Forum 2022, Tencent Cloud PDPA Cyber Security event (received tons of Tencent goodies too!), MTS event in Singapore, and iClick interactive event in Bangkok.

**Free lunch provided too :)

Work Culture

There’s never a time where I feel left out like an outsider. Everyone here is so welcoming and always willing to help. I can feel the sense of belonging even as an intern.

Work aside, I’m very thankful for my amazing mentor. She really valued learning and having a growth mindset. She set up several training sessions for me with the Tencent Cloud Sales Team where I have gained interesting insights about sales.

I would highly recommend anyone who is interested in exploring the tech industry to apply for an internship at Tencent Thailand as it was an excellent experience for me. It would be great for you to expand your knowledge and experience in this field as you would be able to get hands-on experience working on real projects.

PS. I would like to thank my amazing mentor, P’Aor and my fellow interns Napat and Paka. Also shoutout to P’ Karen Choi and K’Alan for the fun sessions.

Cassie

--

--