Life as an Intern Under the WeTV Content Original Department 2023

Warissarakitikul
Tencent (Thailand)
Published in
5 min readAug 7, 2023

Hey guysss, My name is Pat, and I am a senior at Chulalongkorn University studying Bachelor of Arts in Language and Culture. For me, the last two months (June to July 2023) have been an enriching learning experience. If you’re interested in learning more about what I went through, I can fill you in.

A day in my life as an intern under WeTV content original department

First and foremost, I am one of two interns in the WeTV content original department, and my mentor is none other than P’Ned. To be honest, if she had not given me the opportunity, I would not have been able to work in this industry in the first place. It’s hard to believe, but did you all know that Boy Love (BL) Series is now a popular thing in our society? And, as an OTT platform, WeTV does listen to its fans and is presently working on its first project, the BL series. When I began working in June, I was in the process of locating the potential (novel) IP address and preparing a proposal to present these potential novels (both Thai and international IPs) to the company’s headquarters. After the meeting, if everything went well and the project was approved, we moved on to the next step, which was to contact the production house studio and eventually work on the episode scenario, screenplay, and last but not least, I also got to be involved in casting the actors for the upcoming series. Casting the actors was one of the most memorable and enjoyable experiences that my friends and I will never forget (coz we finally get to be away from our office desk), because we got to see how the actors studied their lines and performed during the audition. And these procedures did include a large number of people, and I even got to work with the production team and the Headliner team (also known as the WeTV talent agency).To me, the entire process was eye-opening; as someone who enjoys watching series, I did not expect each steps to take this long and to be filled with so many challenges. However, once I had the opportunity to deal with it and work with the whole crew, despite the exhausting portion, the entire procedure was worthwhile.

Intern friends and office environment as a whole

I guess we have roughly 20 intern students this year. However, because WeTV is the only department situated on the 12th floor, we didn’t get to see many people from other departments, but we did get to see and make friends from other departments during lunch and break time instead, such as the sales or sanook teams. Our perks and privileges were far superior to my expectations. We not only get free delicious lunch, but we also get to play table tennis and pool with other intern friends and current employees from other departments. To be honest, I didn’t know how to shoot these pools on the pool table at first, but with time and advice from Sanook team personnel (special thanks to พี่บอล&พีปิ๊ก), my friends and I can’t stop playing it every day. I also noticed that Tencent offers yoga classes to its employees and interns, so if you’re looking to stretch and relax, don’t hesitate to sign up! However, if you’re not up to some stretching you could be like us: my colleagues and I would frequently grab a game of bowling or a bite to eat after a long day. In a nutshell, everyone in the organization is extremely friendly and helpful to one another. With only two months at this company, I’ve already met such a wonderful family.

To future intern

What are you still waiting for? Come join the company and I guarantee you won’t regret a single second of your time, and believe it or not, two months will fly by and you won’t believe it’s time to say good-by to everyone.

Special Thanks:

HR team: พี่แพรว and her wonderful HR team

WeTV team: พี่เน็ด(Our lovely mentor) พี่เอิร์นนี่,พี่ฟิว

Headliner team: พี่แป้ม, พี่เนย่า, พี่พลอย

Sanook and production team: พี่โอ๋, พี่ปิ๊ก, พี่เน็ด

Intern friends: Earn, Lookkaew, Orm, Tang, Mew, Bam and Nut

--

--