Developing The Backhand Volley

Harsh Mankad
Tenicity
Published in
4 min readMar 9, 2018
Tenicity & Enerzal are supporting junior tennis

In this 5th blog in our series of 12, I’ve shared my thoughts on developing the right technique and form for the backhand volley. We will first learn the two-handed volley and progress to executing the shot with one hand.

Two-handed backhand volley:

Most junior players, at the onset learn the backhand volley with two hands (as I did). The benefits of starting with two hands are:

  • Gaining more stability on the racquet frame
  • Being able to develop more control and feel for the point of contact with the ball
  • Easier to execute this high skill shot

Below, I have demonstrated the grip for the two-handed backhand volley. Notice that for my top or left hand, the thumb knuckle is positioned below the right edge of my racquet (red arrow). My lower or right hand index finger knuckle is aligned a bit more to the right (orange arrow). It’s important to develop the right volley grip as it will impact the angle of your racquet at contact, spin on the ball, and solidity of the shot.

Two-handed backhand volley grip

Common mistakes I have seen on the grip are:

  • The top hand thumb knuckle is too far over to the left (for righties)
  • The bottom hand index finger knuckle is to far over to the right (for righties)
  • There is a sizable space between the bottom and top hand.

Below you will see a demonstration of a few fundamentals of the swing:

  • Ready position: racquet is positioned in front of my body
  • Setting the racquet-face angle: see how I turn my wrist (without breaking the wrist position) to set my racquet to my side
  • Contact point and follow-through: once racquet position is set, I meet the ball in front and extend the racquet through the strike zone towards my target
Demonstration of the technique and form for the two-handed backhand volley

Single-hand backhand volley:

Let’ start with the all important grip on this shot. The picture below illustrates the grip that I use on my single-hand volley. You will see how my index finger knuckle is positioned slightly to the right of the right edge of my racquet. For lefties, your index finger knuckle should be aligned slightly to the left of the left edge of the racquet.

Harsh’s single-hand backhand volley grip

Below is a demonstration of a few fundamentals of the shot:

  • Ready position: see how my racquet is set in front of my body. I have seen many juniors start with the racquet too close to their bodies which makes them prone to a contact point that is either too close to the body or late.
  • Setting the racquet: see how I turn my arm and use the left hand to set the racquet to the side in preparation for the incoming ball.
  • Contact and Follow-through: once the racquet is set, I move forward with meeting the ball in front and extending through the strike zone to finish with my racquet pointing towards my target.
Demonstration of the technique and form for the single-hand backhand volley

In summary, the two-handed backhand volley is an excellent way for junior players to start on their progression to learning the shot. Make sure to develop the right grip and a contact point that is in front of your body. As you develop the two-hander and your strength improves to control the racquet with one hand, slowly let go off the top hand and practice developing the one-hand volley.

In my video later this month, I will share a few drills and tips for you to develop your backhand volley!

All the best,

Harsh

Tenicity is a tennis player development platform founded by former India #1 singles and Davis Cup player, Harsh Mankad. Enerzal is a balanced energy drink which can be consumed before, during, and after tennis to maintain optimum energy levels. The Tenicity — Enerzal Coaching Program is a partnership to support player development and performance.

--

--

Harsh Mankad
Tenicity

Former NCAA #1 and Davis Cup professional tennis player turned Founder of Tenicity, a tennis player development platform.