Stop Provoking Your Users

Ichofu Victor
Terragon Tech Blog
Published in
4 min readJan 11, 2018

See ehn, the country is hard and people have been very angry (You can ask @LasisiElenu) , the least thing potential users / website visitors want is to get pissed off while trying to use your service.

If you are not angry, then allow me make you angry a bit :-(

Did that work ?

Let’s move on

I’m sure there are so many other alternative products but a user chose to ‘try’ yours. don’t stress them biko.

Here are a few things users are tired of seeing on your App/Website.

  1. Lengthy Forms

Users tend to get lost or uninterested when you provide a very long registration form. Just keep it simple and ask for the basic information first. You can get the others when user has signed in .

Full names and e-mail address and password are just fine. Users should be able to complete their profiles inside of your platform.

This is a Sign-Up page for a Medical app for Doctors

2. Mother’s maiden name

Unless I’m giving you money to keep for me or you are giving me money , please leave my mother’s maiden name out of it. Can we move on ?

Use your upper…

3. Asking for Personal / Card details without any ‘Value.

We all know how we Nigerians are scared of putting our card details on apps and sites we don’t trust especially when we’ve not gotten any form of value.

‘Without any service provided or any value for money’, …of giving websites their card details, especially websites/apps that are not guaranteed to make refunds if anything goes wrong’. ‘It is usually reassuring to provide free service for a day. This assures and convinces the customer of the legitimacy of the website/app.

4. Entering Phone numbers with Qwerty keyboard

I’m sure I’m not the only one that has tried to enter my phone number on a mobile app/website optimized for mobile and the full qwerty keyboard pops up. If the field is for numbers alone, please just allow only the numbers keyboard show. It’s easier and less stressful .

5. Unnecessary/ Forceful sign up.

Aren’t you going to tease me a little first? Timing is everything.

If I don’t need to sign up before I have access to your product, don’t choke registration on me abeg. Ordinary game that i downloaded, you ask me to register before I play, kilode? You can give limited access to users until they register, not forcing them to sign up.

6. Unnecessary pop ups

An oldie but a goodie. And yet still we see them. If you want to bombard me with pop-ups then I’m going to want to leave. The sooner you show me the pop-up, the sooner I’ll go. That said, I can just about tolerate pop-ups that appear after 30–60 seconds (assuming you load time is <5sec), so long as the content is good.

I just visited your website that took over 1 min to load, after patiently waiting to get the information I needed, you are already asking me to subscribe to your mailing list/newsletter

Are You M……..

7. Wrong error messages

Don’t make your users doubt if they are doing the right or wrong thing because of your error messages. Make your error messages straight to the point and relate-able.

8. Font size and Color schemes :

Not all of us have perfect eyesight, (We dey wear glass)
Poor color combinations and irregular font sizes can make it difficult to read text. And if you cannot read something there’s really very little point in hanging around..

9. Rubbish fonts. You’re using Times New Roman?

Really? It’s ugly. Still, at least it isn’t Comic Sans. No right minded person would leave a website purely based on font aesthetics, but lame fonts can give off the impression that you’re not trying hard enough. And that, in conjunction with one or two other negative factors, might be the difference between a visitor hanging around and bailing out.

PS: These points are not mine but from your users, all i did was deliver their message to you. So don’t take it personal .

--

--

Ichofu Victor
Terragon Tech Blog

Program Management | Professional Scrum Master | Product Management | Delivery Management | Business Analysis