Piloting Your Life: In-Flight Entertainment (Another One Bites the Dust) (July 9, 2019)

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead
Published in
3 min readJul 9, 2019

--

Welcome Back My Victorious Passengers:

Congratulations to the 2019 Women’s World Cup Champions…the US National Team…their play, composure under pressure, and vocal advocacy for change were and continue to be incredibly impressive.

With the win on Sunday, women took a step forward in our fight for equality. As usual, the women had to outperform the men in order to demonstrate that we deserve even a third of what they get. BTW, the Men’s National Team lost the CONCACAF Gold Cup…a regional tournament with weak competitors but we won’t go there. #Unflappable #Unapologetic #Unstoppable

I got schooled today on Title IX. I thought it was all about equal funding for girls’ sports but no, there’s so much more as I learned in this amazing Unladylike podcast.

Title IX: “No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any education program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance.”

I had no idea the breadth of this law, the history behind it, and the obligations of our schools and administrations to our children. #TimesUp!

As of today, there are 53 days until Piloting Your Life (the book) launches. Crazy! I will deliver my baby boy to college and then a week later, my first book.

It’s been quite the journey and while it’s not quite over, the manuscript is done and is in final proofreading, the audio book is recorded and awaiting the final manuscript for final edits, and we are working on the cover and marketing. I talk about it in this week’s Piloting Your Life (the podcast) Midsummer Bubbly Bonus.

Me with Amy Gross of VineSleuth based in Houston

And with that, it’s time for a mini celebration as the house is mine.

Both kids are at Catalina Island Camp (I sent Adam via Lyft to the airport at 7AM Monday) and Zeke is somewhere between Fort Bragg and here enjoying (suffering?) a bicycle and camping trip with two of his buddies.

I am enjoying my week sans family members with a slumber party with my friend Amy pictured here (in from Houston) and various other girly activities. I haven’t cooked since Zeke left and don’t plan to until he returns when I am off to LA to visit friends and see the kidlets at camp.

I hope you are enjoying your summer (if you are in the northern hemisphere) and winter (for the rest of the upside down people)!

Have a great week!

Piloting Your Life (the podcast)

Song: Another One Bites the Dust

--

--

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead

Tiara wearing, champagne drinking troublemaker, making the world a better place for women. Award winning author of Piloting Your Life.