Piloting Your Life: In-Flight Entertainment (Are We All We Are) (Jan 7, 2020)

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead
Published in
4 min readJan 7, 2020

--

Welcome Back My Courageous Passengers:

It’s the new year and time to change a few things up.

Piloting Your Life (the podcast) is on indefinite hiatus with one last episode to be released next week. In it’s place, we have launched a YouTube channel for me to talk about random things with the second recording released today. Rei’s friend Allison asked for a description of the channel and I quickly summarized in the following way:

A woman who sees midlife as an opportunity not a crisis.

As I was writing this post, I figured out how to update the About section and it now says the following:

A woman who sees midlife as an opportunity not a crisis sharing her ongoing adventures as an angel investor, author, founder, helicopter pilot, podcaster, wife, mom of two teenage kids, and woman.

The description needs help. Take a look at my latest video and let me know what it should say. And, yes, it’s super early in the process and with Rei as my producer, we are figuring a lot of stuff out as we go along. Please be kind! It took a lot of courage for me to record and release.

This week we are fostering this sweet 12 week old beast. If you need/want a pup with a ridiculously sweet personality and an ear that only flops one way, let me know. He does well with other dogs and we are introducing him to our cats. He’s going to be big! And no, Rei does not come with Bugsy.

Are you following my global cooking blog with my second child Rei? If not, you are missing out on some serious Gen Z snark and delicious cooking (most of the time). We are cooking a few times a week and blogging about it on #CookingWith Rei.

What about my consulting work you might be asking? Or my angel investing? Or something that isn’t cooking or kids or puppies? How am I funding our family? Yes, I’ve gotten this question a few times in the last few weeks.

I’ve been doing some IT compliance consulting and I did a pre-litigation expert witness gig back in November. 2019 was all about the book, Piloting Your Life. 2016–2018 were all about angel investing, startup advising, building relationships, learning, digital health, and expanding my brain.

In 2020, I will be leveraging all of this plus the last 20 years of my career. More expert witness work. More pre-litigation consulting (to help companies avoid litigation and recover failed implementations). And …

Next week is the JP Morgan / Startup Health / RESI conference in San Francisco. As usual, it is supposed to rain which makes for an interesting conference given that the venues are all around SF. I’ve lost some of my zip around digital health and being able to leverage technology to flip healthcare on its head. I am using next week to see if my passion for digital health is ready to resurface or if I am moving.

I came to the conclusion this past year that since I am not a healthcare provider, and I am not affiliated with a big tech company or educational institution and my checkbook isn’t as big as Melinda Gates’, that I may not be in the best position to truly influence change in this area. It’s all about effective use of my time.

Let’s see if anything changes after next week.

In the meantime, I need to get back into the kitchen to step over the furry beasts and finish up dinner with Rei. They go back to school tomorrow after the holiday break (which they are dreading).

And I need to wake up the snoozing SDSU freshman who seems to think that working for 5 hours two days in a row means 2–3 days of recovery time. He doesn’t go back to San Diego for another two weeks. It’s going to be a long two weeks. Ugh!

Have a fabulous week.

Terri

P.S. Take the controls and be the pilot in your own life. It’s a beautiful day to fly, and you are cleared for takeoff.

Song/Video: Are We All We Are (Live) by P!nk

Terri can be reached through:

Terri’s website: http://www.terrihansonmead.com/

Piloting Your Life(the book) website: https://www.pilotingyourlife.com/

Follow Terri on:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/terrihansonmead

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/terrihansonmead/

Listen to Terri on the Piloting Your Life podcast

Reach Terri by email: pilotingyourlife@gmail.com

Drop Terri a line at: P.O. Box 3507, Redwood City, CA 94064–3507

--

--

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead

Tiara wearing, champagne drinking troublemaker, making the world a better place for women. Award winning author of Piloting Your Life.