Piloting Your Life: In-Flight Entertainment (F#$! California Haters) (Sept 16, 2020)

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead
Published in
4 min readSep 16, 2020

--

Welcome Back My California-Loving Passengers:

The air is clearer today in the San Francisco Bay Area. Many of us were able to comfortably go outside yesterday for the first time in a few weeks.

I’ve played tennis once and have gone hiking once since the middle of August due to fires, smoke, and the heat. This is not good for my mental or physical health. I feel like the Pilsbury Dough Boy.

I listened to an interview I gave for the FemTech Focus podcast back in July that released today. The host, Dr. Brittany Barreto, asked me a question about whether people are leaving SF and the Silicon Valley and just what exactly was I seeing.

I responded with an answer that is giving me pause today.

I talked about how we’ve experienced numerous waves of people coming and going over the years and this isn’t the first time people have predicted the end of the Bay Area or Silicon Valley or California.

And I talked about how much we have to offer in such close proximity. You, know, all of the things that are on fire, covered in smoke, or inaccessible right now due to the fires and even Covid.

Sheltering in place and having limited room to move about the world is creating significant mental strain on most people I know. Not being able to go outside is making it even worse. We can’t exercise or enjoy the outdoors like we normally do.

We are worried about our communities, our natural wonders, our economies, our familes and friends, and our pets. Add to this Covid, the economy, politics, etc. and it’s a real challenge.

This brings me back to the topic of self care that seems to be a central point in 2020.

The only way we are going to make it through this is to acknowledge that it’s 2020, it is what it is, and that taking care of ourselves needs to be a priority. We can still have hope AND work towards building a happier, healthier and more inclusive world.

It’s hard but we can’t give up. Let’s be like a phoenix and rise from the issues (hopefully not literally).

YouTube: Terri Mead

Why Start a YouTube Channel at 49?
We are adding new subscribers daily and I thought it might be good to introduce myself, the channel, and the motley crew that makes my life colorful and challenging. Rei adds their typical snark. For those of you who have subscribed, watched and shared, thank you! We are at 166 subscribers after just 9ish months. I feel like I need to step up my content game!

YouTube: Where Are My People (Woohoo Girls!)
It’s scary in California right now between the fires Covid, the economy, politics, and systemic and institutonal racism and sexism. I get my energy from other people (classic extrovert) and I really miss meeting and learning from new people. How do I get access to people when I can’t leave my house? Spoiler: tech.

What’s my challenge for you today? Take care of yourself. Do one thing today for your mental and physical health to make you feel a little better or a little less bad. Sending you big hugs and love. You are not alone.

With much love and gratitude,

Terri

P.S. Take the controls and be the pilot in your own life. It’s a beautiful day to fly, and you are cleared for takeoff.

Song: California Girls by Katy Perry

terrihansonmead.com
Piloting Your Life (the book)
Terri Mead YouTube Channel
Piloting Your Life (the podcast)

Twitter: @PilotingLife

Instagram: @PilotingYourLife

Facebook Group: Piloting Your Life (the book)

Facebook Page: Piloting Your Life

--

--

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead

Tiara wearing, champagne drinking troublemaker, making the world a better place for women. Award winning author of Piloting Your Life.