Piloting Your Life: In-Flight Entertainment (Give Love) (Sept 24, 2019)

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead
Published in
5 min readSep 24, 2019

--

Welcome Back My Everloving Passengers:

I am wiped out. Did I start last week’s newsletter the same way? I don’t have the energy to go back and check. Anyone else feeling tired but at the same time excited and motivated? That’s me right now…the pull and the push.

I have stepped up my self care through exercise and haven’t yet seen this effort manifest in better sleep. Maybe it’s my cat Zuko wanting to come in and out at 2:00 am and my dog’s repositioning in the middle of the night to make herself extremely comfortable.

I am trying to do some sort of exercise every day which means dragging myself away from my computer and never ending To-Do List to get outside and play tennis or go for a walk with Violet and a friend or walk downtown for dinner with Zeke. My streak is 5 days so far. Can I make it 6? What do you do to stay active and be disciplined in putting your health first?

Speaking of health, I went back to Stanford for my annual Project Baseline visit. I am patient #12. I told the gal, Christina (who was extremely lovely), not to bother sending me home with the poopsicle kit.

They (Google/Verily) screwed up the logistics two years running and I am not going to poop into a Cool Whip container, freeze the sample, and then put it out for pickup in hopes that someone might actually get it right (last year’s story here!) They drew blood, swabbed my ears, nose and mouth, took saliva and urine samples, hooked me up for an EKG, and had me do some exercises (strength, flexibility, motion).

During my visit, I got to have lunch with one of my besties, Donna, and signed a book for one of the gals who works there with Donna. With one exception (the gal who does the eye exam who has no business doing them), I’ve had a great experience with everyone at Stanford. Having a fan club there doesn’t hurt.

Piloting Your Life (the book)

It’s that time again…Serendipity…one of my favorite San Francisco women’s conferences (it’s hard to play favorites but this one is really good).

Last year I put together an all day session on activating and educating more women investors. This year it’s all about getting more women to take the controls and be the pilots in their own lives.

I am seriously considering a workbook to go along with Piloting Your Life (the book) and will be beta testing some material with the attendees. I hope they enjoy it and don’t mind being my guinea pigs! My session is from 2:00–3:30 but there are plenty of other good sessions to attend. You get to build your own agenda! Tickets may still be available. Use SPEAKER_VIP_2019 to save $100.

Piloting Your Life (the podcast)

Do we get to call the episodes Bubbly Bonuses if they become a regular thing? Because this week is another Bubbly Bonus with birthday girl Jacqueline and I talking about claiming our power as women.

What if we simply claimed our space and said (out loud or in our heads), “I am here, get used to it!”?

What if we started voting with our pocketbooks and asserted our tremendous financial power?

If we all used the #powerofthepurse to support those companies that align with our values and reject those that don’t, imagine our influence!

Enjoy the episode. Next week is an interview with a challenge for all women…do one thing every day to support another woman. More details to come. #LiftNotDrag

Weekly Challenge

It’s time to celebrate all of our firsts no matter how big or small. Take the time to stop, throw your hands up in the air and and yell ‘yeah!’ or something that works for you.

Amy here went to her first A’s game and tailgate party this past week (she’s a Houston Astros fan). My first house party got booked (thank you Vanessa!). Not to mention my first keynote last week. I definitely threw my hands up in the air in celebration a few times.

So what ‘firsts’ are you celebrating? Drop me a line and let me know what your ‘first’ was so I can celebrate with you and your adventurous spirit. If you include a picture I might just create a pin on Pinterest!

Don’t be shy. Share it out on social media to inspire others to try new things and experience the joy of their first time in midlife. Use hashtags #midlifefirsts #midlifeopportunities #takethelastfuckingcupcake #pilotingyourlife #takingthecontrols

Enjoy your week and happy adventuring.

Terri

Piloting Your Life (the podcast)


Song: Give Love (Andy Grammer)
www.terrihansonmead.com

Twitter: @PilotingLife

Instagram: @PilotingYourLife

Website: Piloting Your Life

Facebook Group: Piloting Your Life (the book)

Facebook Page: Piloting Your Life

--

--

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead

Tiara wearing, champagne drinking troublemaker, making the world a better place for women. Award winning author of Piloting Your Life.