Piloting Your Life: In-Flight Entertainment (Is Ice Cream Self Care?) (Mar 3, 2020)

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead
Published in
3 min readMar 2, 2020

--

Welcome Back My Self-Caring and Supportive Passengers:

Friday I hit a wall and ended up in the bathtub with a container of Rocky Road ice cream and a big spoon. It was only noon. I was completely overwhelmed by personal, professional, global, and economic challenges and just needed to take a break.

While soaking in the tub, I commented on a post by a woman founder in Australia who was looking for ideas on how to deal with rejection when raising funds for her company. We ended up having a truly supportive exchange despite being across the world from each other and never having met. She went for a hike with her family. I went and got a painful massage. Gotta love self-care and supportive women!

I took a break from the 24/7 news cycle for the rest of Friday and through to Sunday only occasionally glancing at some headlines. I resisted the temptation to look at my Schwab accounts to see how we ended the week but I will have to at some point this week when I do our monthly financial recap. It’s unfortunate that the bad week was also the end of the month so I can’t completely avoid looking at the ending balances and the net loss. I remind myself I am in it for the long haul and I am long ways away from retiring.

So what am I doing to keep myself out of the bubbles and away from the Rocky Road each and every day? Well, as I was drafting this, I got a call from Kamilia Smith, a gynecologist based in Dallas. We first connected back in August when she saw one of my LinkedIn posts about Piloting Your Life the book. We are both passionate about women’s health and we totally hit it off! We’ve stayed in touch and we are working on some events for Dallas in May at her medical practice, Charleston House and maybe an event or two at The Riveter.

A five minute call turned into a delightful and uplifting 35 minute call. We are both very excited about collaborating together, and with other women, to support women, in or approaching, midlife. Once again I am benefitting from social media (remember the gal on FB from Australia I mentioned earlier?) and the support of other women AND I am able to provide them with support as well. Women helping women…we are changing the world for the better.

Are you doing something to make the world a better place for women? Drop me a line and let me know what you are doing!

Do you like to watch YouTube videos? Check out the video I recorded for this week expanding on what I talked about here.

With much love and gratitude,

Terri

P.S. Take the controls and be the pilot in your own life. It’s a beautiful day to fly, and you are cleared for takeoff.

Song: Hollaback Girl (Gwen Stefani)

terrihansonmead.com
Piloting Your Life (the book)
Piloting Your Life (the podcast)

Twitter: @PilotingLife

Instagram: @PilotingYourLife

Facebook Group: Piloting Your Life (the book)

Facebook Page: Piloting Your Life

YouTube Channel: Terri Mead

--

--

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead

Tiara wearing, champagne drinking troublemaker, making the world a better place for women. Award winning author of Piloting Your Life.