Piloting Your Life: In-Flight Entertainment (I’m So Tired) (Mar 24, 2020)

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead
Published in
3 min readMar 24, 2020

--

Welcome Back My Exhausted Passengers:

I am tired. Every day feels like a week. I am frustrated that I am not as productive as usual. My To Do list isn’t getting any shorter which is really frustrating. I am not cleaning closets or spending hours reading or doing puzzles. I am still at my computer every damn day like I was before the COVID-19 crisis. I am trying to do it all with less energy, greater activity around the house, and not enough time outdoors.

At the same time, I feel calm. I thrive in these types of situations. I have a bit of a superhero complex which means when the shit is hitting the fan, I step in to save the day. While helpful in the short term, this is damaging in the long run. A friend pointed this out to me on a call last week (virtual happy hour) when I complained about not being able to remember words. She said that that my body was signaling to me that not everything was ok in T-Town.

She recommended slowing down and focusing on self care. I have upped my daily yoga and meditation and have added naps into my schedule. I am trying to give my eyes a break; they are so tired. We are still eating well but last night was vegetarian. I am trying to narrow down my To Do list to focus on those things that are the most critical. I am trying to bathe more than twice a week and change out of my pajamas every other day. The little things do add up.

I’ve let slide a few plans like converting the YouTube videos to Piloting Your Life podcasts. I’ll get to it eventually; it just might not be this week.

YouTube: New Rhythm, New Normal
Rei and I sat down to talk about trying to establish a new rhythm as we find our new normal. I probably should have let Rei talk more (sorry Rei and those of you who are demanding more of Rei). We also talk about naked quiche. You can watch it here. Protip: you don’t have to sit and stare at the screen when you have the video running; you can set it to run while you are doing something else and simply listen to us.

How are you? Are you hanging by a thread? How are you and your family (whatever the composition) adjusting to all of this?

Sending you extra love and a virtual hug today. If you need more, drop me a line and we can do a virtual cocktail hour. 21 days is long enough to build a habit; mine might be a 3 PM alcohol habit. I am about 9 days in and I am really killing it!

With much love and gratitude,

Terri

P.S. Take the controls and be the pilot in your own life. It’s a beautiful day to fly, and you are cleared for takeoff.

Song: I’m So Tired (The Beatles)

terrihansonmead.com
Piloting Your Life (the book)
Terri Mead YouTube Channel
Piloting Your Life (the podcast)

Twitter: @PilotingLife

Instagram: @PilotingYourLife

Facebook Group: Piloting Your Life (the book)

Facebook Page: Piloting Your Life

--

--

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead

Tiara wearing, champagne drinking troublemaker, making the world a better place for women. Award winning author of Piloting Your Life.