Piloting Your Life: In-Flight Entertainment (Ladies First)(Aug 20, 2019)

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead
Published in
4 min readAug 20, 2019

--

Welcome Back My Hustling Passengers:

We are less than two weeks from launching Piloting Your Life (the book) which means we are two weeks away from launching the fall season of Piloting Your Life (the podcast).

Paperback proof from Amazon!

I am absolutely overwhelmed by the tasks and details but am hustling to make it all happen. The good news is that the paperback proof of the book looks good. We are just waiting on acceptance of the audio book. Please send positive juju our direction on that one! This still doesn’t feel real.

On Rei’s birthday hike…the view was almost worth it (with my hubby Zeke)

My summer is definitely over. Rei started back to school last week and we are moving Adam into the dorms at SDSU on Thursday for his first year of college.

Rei and Adam (not posed) on Rei’s 15th birthday

I read a post on an SDSU parent FB group that our kids may have some behavioral issues that amount to ‘soiling the nest’ to make it easier for them to make the transition. Oh boy do I get that. I am showing my son greater compassion as he balances the excited, anxious, nervous, and anticipatory emotions around leaving our nest.

Rei turned 15 this past weekend (yes that is Rei’s snake Jackie around Rei’s neck). I tried to make the weekend all about them which meant a cooking class and swimming with friends, hike with the family and Rei’s friend Tori, and a French dinner prepared by me and Rei.

Zeke, Tori, Rei, me and Adam halfway through the hike

Adam and I were reluctant participants in the hike. As the mama I think I should have been at the spa being pampered. The things we do for our kids (I hate hiking!).

After a crying jag on Friday

And this is all while I am trying to manage all of my feelings around the experience of launching a kid off to college. I cried three times during Rei’s birthday dinner. I used to hold back the tears to not let others see how I am feeling but not anymore. I am trying to allow the feelings to “flow through me.” Feels pretty yucky.

Nick is off to Princeton, Emma is off to American University in DC, Adam is headed to SDSU

Right after these three (Adam and his besties) left for their last lunch together, I completely lost it. I am going to miss having all three of them in the house once they head off to three different schools. Nick left Sunday and Emma leaves today. And now I am crying again. Ugh!

For those of you new to the PYL In-Flight newsletter, welcome.

Each week I try to share some interesting, engaging, and entertaining info. Once the podcast is back on, I’ll include info about the podcast, too. I try to keep it to a 2–3 minute read; I know you are all busy.

I am always open to hearing what you like, what you want, and what you would like to see changed. I embrace and celebrate the notion that life is all about continuously evolving and improving.

For my existing readers, thank you for reading and engaging. As a token of my appreciation, here’s a link to the Piloting Your Life Flight Plan from the book. We’ll be making it fillable on the website on September 1st.

As always, own your greatness this week! Shine bright and let yourself fly!

Terri

Piloting Your Life (the podcast)

Song: Ladies First (Queen Latifah featuring Monie Love)

Piloting Your Life (the ebook) is available for pre-order through August 31, 2019. On September 1st, the paperback, audio book and ebook will be available!

--

--

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead

Tiara wearing, champagne drinking troublemaker, making the world a better place for women. Award winning author of Piloting Your Life.