Piloting Your Life: In-Flight Entertainment (Let’s Give Them Something to Talk About) (Feb 19, 2019)

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead
Published in
3 min readFeb 19, 2019

--

Welcome Back My Vitamin P Seeking Passengers:

I think there is a societal expectation that women over the age of 40 slowly walk off into some daisy field, near a forest, never to be seen or heard from again. With the celebration of youth in our society, it’s no wonder there are so many taboos around women not only existing after 40, but also against us thriving and deriving pleasure from all that life has to offer. This is such a beautiful time in our lives and what better way to give the middle finger to the patriarchy than to love our bodies, live life to the fullest and be amazingly sexual beings.

It’s still February, so to me it’s still Women’s Sexual Health and Wellness Awareness Month. I love the idea of normalizing the conversations around our bodies, our pleasure, and the importance of celebrating and accepting both for our health.

As I’ve been writing my book and exploring all of the ways that we women can take the controls and be the pilots in our own lives, it seems that acceptance, exploration and celebration are central to our journeys. Last week I was struggling with external validation and am working on letting go of ‘needing anything’ from anyone. I am still trying to reconcile ‘asking for help’ (because we shouldn’t have to go this alone) and ‘not needing anything’ and know the answer lies somewhere in letting go of expectations and not caring what other people think. I’ll let you know when I’ve figured it out but if you have ideas on how I can look at this differently, drop me a line. I’d love to hear how you handle this issue.

In the meantime, enjoy my racy conversation with Jacqueline, follow me on Instagram @PilotingYourLife as I test material for the book, and be sure to check out the show notes for the podcast this week because there are some amazingly fun and educational links that will help you get your daily dose of Vitamin P (play, pleasure, passion).

In-Flight Entertainment (Bubbly Bonus: Vitamin P)
This week Jacqueline and I drank some liquid courage in the form of champagne in preparation for our spicy talk about exploring all aspects of ourselves in midlife including sex, starting over as beginners without expectations, new and improved sex technology, and the importance of loving and accepting ourselves to maximize our pleasure. This is not a G-rated conversation so be careful where you listen to it and with whom. Be sure to take the opportunity to explore something new based on our conversation. Enjoy!

Piloting Your Life Episode PYL090: Vitamin P

--

--

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead

Tiara wearing, champagne drinking troublemaker, making the world a better place for women. Award winning author of Piloting Your Life.