Piloting Your Life: In-Flight Entertainment (Work and Exercise…Finding the Balance) (Mar 20, 2018)

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead
Published in
2 min readMar 20, 2018

--

Welcome Back My Spring-Like Passengers:

Hosting office hours at Hotel Zetta in SF…they have champagne and nibbles on Wed/Thurs at 4:30 PM

I’ve been having trouble fitting regular exercise into my schedule. There is always another email to respond to, introduction to make, podcast to work on, blog post to write, family demand, consulting client to deal with, pitch event to attend, founder to meet, or something to read or listen to. I generally don’t prioritize my heath as I tend to put work and others first but realized that I just couldn’t continue doing this as I approach my 48th birthday (plus I need to do something about the extra weight from the cheese/alcohol I consumed since the 2016 election). So, Saturday Zeke and I went to the local exercise equipment store in Menlo Park and I picked out a new treadmill based on a few specific criteria…the most important being that I could take it home that night. Zeke is pretty handy and was able to make room in the garage and assemble it so that I could get on it that very night. He then built a desk for me to work on while I walk (upon which I am currently typing this). It is slowing my work down just a little bit but that’s a low price to pay for getting healthy again. The good news is that there are two cup holders so one can hold my water and the other coffee or champagne depending on the time of day. I am all about versatility!

My new active desk…there’s room for water, coffee and champagne!

In-Flight Entertainment: Angel Investing Q&A
These days I am prioritizing my investing which is evident in this week’s episode on angel investing. Jacqueline tends to listen to the podcast recordings a number of times while she is producing each episode which got her thinking more about angel investing. She started asking me some questions the other day and we both realized that others may have the same questions so we recorded a bubbly bonus without champagne (which is probably good given the previous one we recorded and will most likely never share). She asked about pitch events, demo days, what I look for in pitches, evergreen funds, and fundraising rounds. And of course there are some stories sprinkled in for fun. Enjoy!

--

--

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead

Tiara wearing, champagne drinking troublemaker, making the world a better place for women. Award winning author of Piloting Your Life.