Piloting Your Life: In-Flight Entertainment (Pocketful of Sunshine) (Apr 7, 2020)

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead
Published in
3 min readApr 7, 2020

--

Welcome Back My Metamorphosing Passengers:

As I look out my office window today, I see blue skies. After a rainy and gloomy weekend, it’s sure nice to see sunshine in the forecast. It will be nice to be able to expand our living space to include the front and back sitting areas. I left the house on Thursday for the first time in eleven days for an hour and am not sure when I will next leave the confines of our property lines. And no, this is not the view from my office.

As I talk about in my YouTube video from Saturday (link below), I hit a wall on Wednesday and realized that I had been in major denial. Since then, I’ve been rethinking my approach to this marathon race. I’ve been talking about creating a new normal and realized that I wasn’t changing some of my behaviors. I can be really dense sometimes.

Now I am slowing down, adjusting my expectations, limiting my work time, and easing into taking time to breathe. How can I expect things to change if I don’t change what I am doing? This is not easy, by the way. It feels crunchy and uncomfortable to let go of what was, to create and embrace what can and will be. This is the best possible birthday gift.

YouTube: Never too much champagne or too many tiaras (turning 50)
We got dressed up on Sunday (I even bathed) to celebrate my 50th birthday. It was a good day despite sheltering in place. Friends dropped off goodies and decorated my front walkway with flamingos and unmentionables (which I mention in the YouTube video). I was only one glass (maybe two) into an amazing Frank Family sparkling wine (thank you Beth and Alan) when I recorded the video. Check it out.

YouTube: Settling into the big reset (letting go)
I recorded Saturday’s video after I realized that I had been in major denial about our current situation. I thought that if I just kept doing what I was doing, I could simply persist through. We are in strange times, people, and that is not going to work. I shared my thoughts on creating a new normal as we adjust daily to what is going on in our minds, homes, communities, and in our society.

I hope you are able to slow down a little and adjust your expectations; maybe you already have and I am just late to the game. We are in a new world and a new time.

Sending you extra love and a virtual hug today.

With much love and gratitude,

Terri

P.S. Take the controls and be the pilot in your own life. It’s a beautiful day to fly, and you are cleared for takeoff.

Song: Pocketful of Sunshine (Natasha Bedingfield) and Unwritten (Natasha Bedingfield)

terrihansonmead.com
Piloting Your Life (the book)
Terri Mead YouTube Channel
Piloting Your Life (the podcast)

Twitter: @PilotingLife

Instagram: @PilotingYourLife

Facebook Group: Piloting Your Life (the book)

Facebook Page: Piloting Your Life

--

--

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead

Tiara wearing, champagne drinking troublemaker, making the world a better place for women. Award winning author of Piloting Your Life.