Piloting Your Life: In-Flight Entertainment (Tell ’em what you want, what you really really want)(Mar 19, 2019)

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead
Published in
3 min readMar 19, 2019

--

Welcome Back My Opinionated Passengers:

The sunshine is back and it feels so good despite the fact that I am spending the majority of my time indoors writing and working. I have a tight timeline on the book manuscript and am being deliberate and intentional about what I agree to between now and the end of May. I will still find some time out on the tennis court as we have to make up quite a few matches due to the rainy winter (I play singles for two local teams). The exercise is supposed to be good for getting the creative juices flowing so I will be dragging my butt off the couch and away from my laptop to get on the court.

As we continue to explore the topic of women’s health on Piloting Your Life (the podcast), this week I’ve interviewed Jennifer Maddocks of Duke Health’s Digital Strategy Office. She focuses on patient engagement and the patient experience as these relate to technology at Duke Health. Most healthcare facilities and providers are beginning to realize that patients have choice and want to work with patients to create a better overall healthcare experience. They are also realizing that patients are expecting experiences that are similar to other areas of their lives and want better technology and easier communication and access. I know I do.

As we become better advocates for our own health and healthcare, and for our loved ones, we can speak up about what we want from our healthcare providers and payers and influence the creation of an experience that is better tailored to our needs. We can also speak up to our legislators to make positive changes at that level too. There’s a lot of room for improvement and we should all be finding ways to have our desires, needs and opinions heard and addressed.

Enjoy the conversation and let me know what you are doing to get your voice heard to influence healthcare for you and your loved ones.

Piloting Your Life episode 94: Patient engagement with Jennifer Maddocks of Duke Health: how engaging patients leads to better overall health and care.

--

--

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead

Tiara wearing, champagne drinking troublemaker, making the world a better place for women. Award winning author of Piloting Your Life.