Piloting Your Life: In-Flight Entertainment (We’re Bringing Sexy Back!) (Feb 12, 2019)

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead
Published in
3 min readFeb 12, 2019

--

Welcome Back My Sex Kitten Passengers:

I am continuing with the theme of sex, love and relationships as I continue to endorse February as Women’s Sexual and Health and Wellness Awareness month. I stepped up my research on sex (my browser history looks pretty interesting at this point as do my credit card charges…all business deductions!) for midlife women and have had some fun discoveries of my own. My inner sex kitten is waking up and I feel more like the real Terri even though I don’t look like I did 20 years ago.

This brings me to a topic covered by this week’s guest, sex therapist Jessa Zimmerman. She thinks that the common definition of sex needs to be reworked into something less goal oriented. She thinks the current definition is far too one dimensional and has the potential to be so much more for everyone, not just for us as we age, and should take into account different needs and health conditions. To Jessa, sex is the physical expression of pleasure and connection. Kaleidoscope images come to mind when I think of that definition and doesn’t that sound like more fun?

My writing coach Katie Cross suggested that I read a book called Men on My Couch as I work through the format of my book. The structure was interesting but what was more interesting were some of the insights the author/sex therapist provided in the book about some of the baggage we carry into and develop in our relationships, especially with sex. While listening to a few other podcasts I realized that the way I approached sex before marriage didn’t translate well into marriage with actual love and kids and professional ambitions and life in general. This is what I am loving about midlife though; it is the perfect opportunity to revisit my youth and rediscover what was lost, heal what was wounded, and create something even better. Ooh la la!

As part of the exploration and discovery, I will be testing out a few products and my producer Jacqueline and I are going to get together to record a bubbly bonus on Friday night for release next week. Am I teasing you? Absolutely! But isn’t that kind of delicious?

Oh, and happy Valentine’s Day!

In-Flight Entertainment (Jessa Zimmerman)
As I mentioned above, this week’s guest is Jessa Zimmerman, a sex therapist and couples’ counselor based in Seattle. I reached out to her last week after reading about her in an article on Genneve. Jessa works with individuals and couples ranging in age from 20–80. We talked about how clarity in midlife provides us with the perfect time and opportunity to take the risks to improve our relationships with ourselves and others. Sex is part of the human experience and isn’t something that needs to be less of a priority as we age and as I said last week, sex is good for your health! Enjoy.

Piloting Your Life Episode PYL089: Jessa Zimmerman

--

--

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead

Tiara wearing, champagne drinking troublemaker, making the world a better place for women. Award winning author of Piloting Your Life.