Safe and Sound: PYL In-Flight: Apr 22, 2022

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead
Published in
5 min readApr 23, 2022

--

Welcome Back My Safe and Sound Passengers:

Yes, it’s come to this. I purchased a pop-up puppy pool for Good Boy George along with 100 ball pit balls so my puppy can work his brain and forage for his kibble and treats. This was recommended by professional dog trainers. I can’t make this shit up.

My new project is training George and I am not 100% sure about how I feel about this.

It’s probably good I didn’t know what I was getting myself into when I/we adopted George. Not unlike when I decided to learn to fly helicopters. I didn’t think about it; I just went for it.

Oddly enough it was 7 years ago almost to the day when I passed my commercial check ride and became a commercially rated helicopter pilot. Love that this came up in my FB memory feed this morning.

Both of these things are good reminders that not overthinking something is exactly the right thing to do.

I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve decided not to do something because I thought of all the ways that things could go wrong, when in many of those instances, taking action would have been the best thing to do.

How does one avoid being reckless? Or does it matter?

I looked up the definition of reckless and checked out some synonyms and I really liked the ones like adventurous, venturesome, and daring. I like to think I am adventurous and daring. I don’t like the idea of being foolhardy, rash, or lacking good sense (other synonyms for reckless).

Playing it safe is not going to get me where I want to go. Not that I have any clue about where that is right now.

I’m deep into a transition and have really been struggling.

I rolled off a client project on April 1st and my husband Zeke left for a two-week bike trip from Nashville to New Orleans on April 9th.

Finn (my youngest) just got off the Green River in Utah after 17 days of rafting, kayaking, and canoeing.

My oldest, Adam, recently turned 21 and is in Orange, CA at Chapman University finishing his junior year.

Besides, George, I’ve had no one but myself to take care of for the last two weeks and I hated the first 9 days.

Adam turned 21 and I was alone.

This was the first time in 21 years (maybe longer) where there were no Easter baskets, no Easter egg hunt, and no Easter brunch. I was alone. With George.

But then Monday rolled around and I put on my big girl panties, set up the crate in my office, and got back to ‘work’ by attacking my To Do list.

I started to like having the house to myself.

I started to like choosing when we would get up, when we would go to bed, and how long of a nap to take (with George). Puppies need lots of naps.

I had dinner with my friend Patty in SF on Monday night while Adam’s friend Christian watched George.

My friend Jacqueline came over to chat on Wednesday night.

My friend Alicia brought lunch today and we co-worked together at the counter in between catching up and me keeping George busy.

I played tennis, went to the gynecologist, ate poorly (even had McDonalds yesterday), picked up an order from Target (ball pit and dog toys/treats), and watched many dog training videos as I work to make George the perfect dog,

My schedule has been my own and boy is that weird. I am not complaining.

But now what? I don’t know.

I’ve worked enough transitions (thanks to my executive coach Bev) to know that this is a process that needs to be worked. But I also know that I’ve done big things in the past and want to keep doing big things that excite my brain and my body.

I am grateful for the luxury of time to figure out what is next and hopefully the universe gives me the sign to once again say ‘Fuck it! Just go for it!’ and I will be on my way to my new adventure in a venturesome and daring fashion.

You know, somewhat reckless.

Just in case I forget and start to lose courage, FB also reminded me that it was 7 years ago today that I committed to going to Necker Island for the first time.

Have you done anything adventurously and daringly reckless that was absolutely the right thing to do? I’d love to hear about it.

May you find peace, acceptance, and love today as you navigate being human including the unexpected pivots.

With much love and gratitude,

Terri

P.S. Take the controls and be the pilot in your own life. It’s a beautiful day to fly, and you are cleared for takeoff.

Song: Safe and Sound by Capital Cities

terrihansonmead.com
Piloting Your Life (the book)
Terri Mead YouTube Channel
Piloting Your Life (the podcast)

Twitter: @PilotingLife

Instagram: @PilotingYourLife

Facebook Group: Piloting Your Life (the book)

Facebook Page: Piloting Your Life

--

--

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead

Tiara wearing, champagne drinking troublemaker, making the world a better place for women. Award winning author of Piloting Your Life.