What’s Next? PYL In-Flight Entertainment (Mar 31, 2021)

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead
Published in
5 min readMar 31, 2021

--

Welcome Back My Forward Thinking Passengers:

Do I get bored of something because it’s run it’s course or do I get bored of something because it’s popular? Hear me out on this one.

As I talked about in Saturday’s YouTube video, I am taking a break from Clubhouse.

I got onto the platform in August and was ALL IN! I loved it so much that I couldn’t tell enough people about it.

— I recorded a video on how Clubhouse saved me during the pandemic back in November.

— I wrote a blog post on the Clubhouse Welcome Party and why I do/did them (this has been pretty popular!).

My family and friends got pretty sick and tired of me talking about Clubhouse.

And then it stopped being fun; it became work without the results I was looking for.

So I am looking for the next thing.

This isn’t the first time that I got into something for a period of time and then I get bored and move on to something else. This usually happens when something gets popular. I am not a super early adopter but I do get into things earlier rather than later (or not at all).

I got all excited about FemTech and women’s health and was all in on that for a few years and then it too got popular. While there is so much work to be done around women’s health, there are now more people with bigger platforms working on this so my voice and smaller platform aren’t as much of a value-add.

One of my north star goals for the last five years was leveraging data and technology to flip healthcare on its head. Once again, I told everyone who would listen that we needed to be focused on this.

With the pandemic, we are seeing more technology in healthcare and the resistors are starting to embrace technology. I’m not in a good position to affect change on this and while I still believe this is important, I am not the person to make this happen.

I am not in big tech. I don’t have a big enough checkbook for investing. I am not a healthcare provider. I am not in academia. I sit in the middle of all of this (due to my consulting and investing), but I don’t have a big enough platform to make a diffierence. So I am moving on.

For several years I’ve talked about investing in startups outside of the San Francisco Bay Area / Silicon Valley because innovation happens everywhere and now we are seeing more investors doing this. I’d like to see more but the positive movement is encouraging.

I’ve talked about investing in startups that address the needs of those who don’t look like the 92% men investors who control the majority of the VC funding. The opportunities are (and have been) obvious to me and we are now seeing a lot more funding and activity in these areas.

I got burned out trying to expand and change the ecosystem to make it more accessible to people who wouldn’t otherwise have access to resources including financial. As such, I’ve been taking a break from angel investing and startup advising with a few exceptions. We invested in Monique Woodard’s new fund Cake Ventures and I’m helping a few select startup founders and of course my portfolio companies.

So what’s next for me? What is going to be hot? I don’t know but I am definitely on the look out.

And you know I’ll be sharing it with you here once I figure it out.

In the meantime, time for yoga, meditation, and my morning pages to get into an open headspace. And maybe some champagne to celebrate turning 51 on Monday.

YouTube: Terri Mead

YouTube: Celebrating 51 with a Boudoir Photo Shoot
I struggled with finding an exciting way to mark my 51st birthday (April 5th) and think I may have found a bold and somewhat terrifying way to do it as I talk about in yesterday’s YouTube video. Should I or shouldn’t I? And do you have any recommendations?

YouTube: Taking a Break from Clubhouse
While Clubhouse saved my sanity this past fall, by January I was pretty much done. Why? Well you’ll have to watch Saturday’s video to find out.

What’s my challenge for you today? Take a break from something that is no longer serving you.

With much love and gratitude,

Terri

P.S. Take the controls and be the pilot in your own life. It’s a beautiful day to fly, and you are cleared for takeoff.

Song: Thank You, Next by Ariana Grande

terrihansonmead.com
Piloting Your Life (the book)
Terri Mead YouTube Channel
Piloting Your Life (the podcast)

Twitter: @PilotingLife

Instagram: @PilotingYourLife

Facebook Group: Piloting Your Life (the book)

Facebook Page: Piloting Your Life

--

--

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead

Tiara wearing, champagne drinking troublemaker, making the world a better place for women. Award winning author of Piloting Your Life.