My car pays its own insurance, registration and the loan with the gas savings every month

Impatient Optimist
Tesla Road Trips
Published in
2 min readMar 13, 2022

At this point people in California are accustomed to high gas prices but recently we have been seeing new highs. And EVs are more attractive than ever.

Tesla Motors recently added a new tab to their mobile app called Charge Stats. Here the app shows the total amount you saved in the last 31 Days and calculates the dollar amount by estimating the cost difference between charging your Tesla versus fuel cost in a comparable gas car in the same region. My calculations are based on gas prices in California and I saved little over $600 in one single month. This really means my car is paying for its insurance, the registration and making a good contribution to the loan already.

The screenshot of the Charge Stats on my Tesla App as of today.

The 13 dollars total spent is coming from me charging at the ChargePoint once and as you can see the big chunk of my charging was at Superchargers which I have for free. I do recognize that me having supercharger feels like cheating but still knowing how much it would cost me if I were to have a gas car makes me double happy with my decision to go with an EV.

If you have a Tesla or other EVs, please let us know how much you saved in the last month. Seeing more example can give all of us a better idea.

--

--

Impatient Optimist
Tesla Road Trips

I mainly write about long distance roadtrips and how to make these possible with EV.