Tesni Alexander
Tesni Travels
Published in
5 min readDec 10, 2017

--

After a brief stint in Manchester where I met for lunch with my junior brother (Aka twin). I flew back in to Heathrow, not much of a break in between and then flew out to Hannover, Germany (not ‘Hanover’ Jamaica); as disheartening as that revelation may sound, I have had the most wonderful time on my short Eurotour so far; made so wonderful because I have had the pleasure of flying with an amazing Crew member named Rebecca.

Don’t judge the fact you can see my t-shirt under my jumper. Germany was freezing. I had my hotel room temp on max!

This morning, Rebecca chose to get a head start at life by going to the gym whilst I opted for breakfast in bed, courtesy of room service.

French toast in Germany, not quite Nando’s but still cheeky!

Not the most aesthetically pleasing meal, must say it was actually vile, and tasted as bad as it looks. I was expecting a plate overflowing with berries, a gravy boat baring maple syrup, the toast lightly dusted with icing sugar and a side of double cream. Instead, I was provided with fried eggy bread and selection of jams. Ew.

A prime example of why they say, don’t make decisions when you’re hungry. Last night I was absolutely starving. It had gone midnight however; I wasn’t prepared to indulge before I slept. Instead I took a look at the breakfast menu. It was one of those tick list menus where you place a tick beside your meal of choice and the time you’d like it to be delivered to your room. I opted for the French toast to be delivered at 9 am. It came at 9:06. But I wouldn’t have minded if it had not come at all. Fortunately it was only €3.60.

Rebecca and I met at 9:50am outside our hotel rooms and went to reception to get maps of the city and directions to the Christmas markets. How can one visit Germany so close to Christmas and not visit a Weinachtsmarkt (Christmas Market)? GCSE German come at me! Please don’t. We walked a few minutes to the tram line on Pelikan Straße (Pelikan street) and waited for a tram to ‘Hauptbahnhof’ 5 stops away. Walking out of the station and into the Christmas markets, or so we thought but it looked a little derelict. Though some stall owners had began setting up.

We headed back into the tram station which could really be described as a shopping mall to get some breakfast and a coffee. The two of us opted for a ‘Käse Brezel’ (cheese pretzel) which cost €2.25 each, Whilst I decided on a cappuccino (€2.80) and Rebecca a black coffee (€2.20)

the sheer number of bakeries serving delicious goodies was enough to make a coeliac shiver. We continued our journey through Hannover; each time we thought we’d reached the end of the Christmas market, there in the distance with the help of a squinted eye, we could see the outline and flashing lights indicative of more stalls.

The goodies were as scrumptious as they looked. (I ate enough of them to form this opinion)

Taking the tram in to Hauptbahnhof reminded me so much of the disastrous underground train ride I had endured almost 4 years to the date earlier (5th December 2013) when I was pickpocketed for all I owned in Milan. This time I clutched my bag with confidence whilst notably observing other people naturally doing the same. After we chilled ourselves to the core we returned to the hotel to warm up and relax for a few hours, before meeting again to head back in to the Christmas markets on a hunt for dinner.

By day the markets were nice; by night it was a whole different ball game. The stalls were covered in pretty fairy lights and glowed a warm amber.

We spent the remainder of our evening perusing the stalls and doing a self proclaimed food tour. Which consisted purchasing anything we liked the look (or smell) of. I settled on “Schafskäse” which translates to sheeps cheese; it came across as a less vinegary Feta. It arrives heated and peppered with a variation of red seasonings, inside what appears to be ‘Turkish pide’ bread. There are a selection of salads and your choices of sauce to compliment. (Obviously I went for garlic mayo).

Thought I’d save some of this bad boy for later. Wrapped it up, put it in my bag and garlic mayo leaked through. Oops. €5.00

We then indulged in a pork dish sorry for all those the non swine eaters. It was delish. Spit roasted pork served in a brown bread roll with grilled onions and of course; garlic mayo.

started eating before I took the picture, so it looks like crap. But I can assure you it didn’t taste as such. €6.00

My time in Germany has come to an end, was supposed to go to Aberdeen after but I left my passport in my safe in Germany. So that was the end of that.. whilst we deliberate how England comes to a halt at such snowy times as these. I want you to think about the £15+ it costs you for your travel card to London only for you not to be able to manoeuvre yourself around because public transport will most likely fail you. Germany on the other hand

All day ticket €5.20 (€8.20 for all zones).
I was never moving from the bedroom to take a picture! Have an amazing week.

Big hugs. Tesni xx

--

--