Cape Town 2.0

Tesni Alexander
Tesni Travels
Published in
3 min readAug 15, 2018

June 5th 2018

It has been a pleasure to revisit Cape Town and do something other than effortlessly indulge in mouthwateringly succulent steak (although that’s too was revisited).

I managed to wake up with a more than reasonable hour at 9:38AM. I lay around for awhile deliberating what to do. Climbing Table Mountain wasn’t an option, as I haven’t psyched myself. However I did embark on an open bus tour of Cape Town. Starting off my day with breakfast at Jarryd’s I again went for the bacon and egg roll(Over easy for my egg connoisseurs) accompanied with an almond milk coconut chai latte. A fellow crew member joined me for breakfast.

After this we headed back towards the hotel to get on the bus (which comes every 20 minutes) We only had to wait a few minutes before one arrived. For R200 each (£11.80) we could hop on and hop off the bus as many times as we pleased, all day. You are provided with a set of earphones and can listen to the live audio as the bus takes its route.

Approximately halfway through our bus journey we hopped off at the beautifully curated and brightly painted houses of ‘Bo Kaap’. These houses were originally owned by freed slaves, Who were previously restricted to dull coloured clothes. When they built their houses they painted them brightly in contrast to their past life.

The European architecture still has a distinctly African feel as you drive through the city and the town centre is far more diverse than the predominantly white coastal areas. This route also took us to the bottom of Table Mountain where you could opt to climb/Cable cart or take five minutes to get refreshments before continuing the bus journey.

I opted to get off and bought a grape and strawberry iced slush and a bottle of water. Of course this couldn’t be done without being interrupted by a perverted South African man of European ancestry making perverse comments i.e. “I should learn how to knit, so I can make me one of those beautiful garments you’re wearing”. To which he added after a brief pause “and fit it personally”.

Fortunately I was now holding up the bus and the driver tooted to let me know it was time to leave. Although my stop in Cape Town wasn’t a long one, it means I’ll have more to explore next time. Hopefully I’ll actually make it up the mountain!

Peace and love!

Check out my insta accounts

@tesni_touria

@gorging.globally

--

--