Travel alone to see a new point of you.

Tesni Alexander
Tesni Travels
Published in
4 min readOct 24, 2017
A photo I took of the Marina in Tel Aviv

Currently sat writing from the desk of my hotel room in Tel Aviv, Israel. I consider that I haven’t really had a chance to settle since completing my two month escapade in the regions of south east Asia. On my way back to England I flew home as I had flown out, with Emirates, I had a transfer in Dubai. After having spent such a long time away from the familiarity of and an inescapable feeling of not being ready to come home; my mindset had adjusted and come to terms with this relentless fact.

My journey from Bangkok to Dubai was fairly smooth, as turbulent flights go. I took pleasure in overindulging on my unlimited drinks supply. Whilst thoroughly looking forward to my plane food on the next leg of my journey, so to avoid spending money in Dubai on food, or anything else for that matter; I did what felt like the smart thing to do in that stomach led moment; I packed my purse and all monies into my hold luggage. I have had my days of frivolous spending, but am now on my journey to financial freedom. I spent almost two weeks in Dubai last year on a family holiday I know how easy it is for you to be clawed in by the Arab Emirates. From my understanding, my stint in Dubai this time was due to be far shorter as the plane for my transfer was soon to be boarded. Having checked several departure screens as I walked through the airport eventually I was satisfied that I was to be sat and waiting at gate 18 for my plane to start boarding.

I sat on a reclined leather seat in plain view of my boarding gate and the little man at the boarding desk. I spent most of my time relentlessly checking my watch. Eventually deciding to stretch my legs and walk over to the gate desk as boarding should have long started. He asked where I was flying to and I bountifully retorted. ‘London Heathrow’. To which he hastily responded, ‘that’s gate 13 not 18, it might be too late.’It was. Thank God my parents wanted me home too and bought me another ticket. After running round the airport like a headless chicken trying to sort out a flight home. I’m back and better than ever.

I can honestly say, on my travels I met some of the most amazing, inspiring, creative and hilarious people. I have befriended people I endeavour to remain in contact with for the rest of my days. Many people, prior to and during my trip asked, Why backpacking and why alone? Many people’s answer to this question would be. ‘To find myself’, I however discovered that I already knew exactly who I was and if anything my time away just consolidated that. Most of the people I came across, were most definitely in search of a void inside of them and it was evident. I met some people, you may meet and think are crazy at first glance and upon conversation, you realise they are; their crazy is directed at their insatiable desire find them self. Their journey of self discovery. I’ve been to dinner with people I’ve met only hours earlier and had sleepovers at the houses of strangers. I’ve dined with and spent hours conversing with locals, I’ve visited more historical sights and museums than I can care to count. I won’t say my trip was eye opening, because my demographic naturally ensues that, but I have had the privilege of being able to see so many similarities, between my own West Indian culture, and that of the south east Asian variety. I’ve swum in seas, relaxed in boats, climbed mountains, eaten foods I never thought I would. Been welcomed into homes and hostels alike, taken more tuk tuks than I have taxis (in my life). I’m outspoken child of the most high, I am caring, I am informative, I am strong, I am loud, I am funny, I am friendly, I am adaptable, I am a voice of reason, I am a teacher, I am a student, I am a culture craver, I am a tastebud traveller, I am all this and more. I know who I am, and I love it.

Travel alone, to see a new point of you.

If you enjoyed this read, please clap away.

Big hugs, Tesni xx

--

--