The Real Reason You Can’t Lose Weight

Fat cells reincarnate — I kid you not!

--

A little overweight? Pixabay

I’ve lost all my weight a couple of times in my life. I know how to eat, what to eat, and how to burn up energy. What I could never figure out was why it was so quick to return (at twice the speed of light) Then a little while ago (ninety minutes), I remembered that fat cells, once formed, never die. Worse than anything, they are greedy little devils, and if you eat just one molecule more than your body needs, the fat cells grab it and hang on for dear life.

It’s also true to say that to keep off the weight, you have to watch everything you eat. Watching the food is better than eating it, but you can break down and eat three or four calories every day or two (just kidding).

This is one hell of a problem.

It’s also frustrating that when things get stressful, or when there are changes in our lives, our carefully implemented ‘healthy eating’ disappears into McDonalds or some other food fest.

Fat has a lot of disadvantages. The major ones are that excessive fat cells shorten our life spans and damages our health. Added to that, getting into a size 8 when you’re a size 16 is difficult. I gave up. The Cancer Society benefitted from my generous donation of clothes made for someone else.

--

--

Tessa Schlesinger Global Atheist Am Yisrael Chai.
Tessa’s Web-log

Complexity is never easy to explain, and far too many stick to black and white, and forget about the colors and the greys.