Software development as an apprenticeship — primer

ben kelly
Testjutsu
Published in
Oct 30, 2017

What if, through the deliberate practice of software development disciplines, we could not only create better software, but become better human beings?

I have written before about the chapter that I contributed to David Greenlees’ book Software Testing as a Martial Art. If you don’t own a copy, and you have an interest in either software testing or martial art, please take a look. I’m pleased to make available my chapter Adopting Phrases, Adopting Culture from the book.

This essay became a catalyst for me to organise my thoughts around education in software development. I firmly believe software development should be taught as an apprenticeship. I’ll write more about this in future posts, but for now, I hope my initial thoughts on the topic serve to spur contemplation and conversation.

Originally published at http://testjutsu.com on October 30, 2017.

--

--

ben kelly
Testjutsu

Professional nerdherder. Opinionated middle-aged white dude in the areas of tech things, scotch, various Japanese things, lifting heavy stuff and trading