Useful Default Avatar Packages/Services

Kurt Jerome Obispo
2 min readJul 20, 2016

Hello, World! Hello, reader!

You probably know how these things go. Right in here should be a bit of intro about empty states, avatars, and stuff. Then the paragraph after that would be me telling you about how content is king, but no content is hand of the king — equally as important, yet often ignored. However, I am positive you don’t need that whole shiz. Plus I’m writing this during my work break, so give me a break.

Here’s a list of services/packages for avatar placeholders.

GeoPattern

A nifty tool that generates beautiful and unique patterns. Probably not the best way to describe it. Just try it yourself and see if you’ll like it. Here’s the demo app.

Identicons

Ever notice those weird geometric patterns used by StackOverflow and GitHub? Those are called identicons. There’s a whole lot of flavors of identicon generators. Here’s the top listing in the npm search.

Adorable Avatars

I’ll leave you with my favorite of the bunch. Instead of giving you initials or patterns, Adorable Avatars spits out adorable faces.

Tell me that’s not adorable. https://api.adorable.io/avatars/285/kurtgerm

--

--