Action Recognition

Sophie Lowen
TETL
Published in
2 min readOct 24, 2021

For my action recognition assignment I decided to do a toothbrushing gesture that provides feedback on proper toothbrushing habits. This idea came from my roommate and I having a discussion on how to brush your teeth as effectively as possible. The LED light goes on when you are brushing your teeth actively and at a good speed. It can be seen as a game to see how long you can keep the light on for by continuously brushing your teeth.

I first started by figuring out how the onboard accelerometer worked by looking at the example code through the LSM9DS1 arduino library. I played around with the accelerometer and figured out I could get the onboard led to light up by going at certain speeds. Once I got the speeds that I wanted to move the nano horizontally at ,in this case it was when x > 0.75 or x <-0.75 ( I had to use the negative values or it wouldn’t be as continuous), I set up an brighter LED on the breadboard.

However, for it to work with a toothbrush I knew I needed a smaller electronic components (or breadboard). I happened to have a small bread board and reduced the wires so the only pieces attached were the LED and resistor directly into the Digital pin 2 and ground. Then to attach the breadboard to the toothbrush I used two hair elastics. I positioned the board so that the led would face away as you brush your teeth so you can see the light in the mirror.

Code

--

--