Input and Output Assignment

Sophie Lowen
TETL
Published in
2 min readOct 11, 2021

For this assignment I decided to create a learning game that focuses on tracing different shapes. I got to this idea because I originally was going to do a game with multiple different buttons but I was having trouble fitting everyhting onto my breadboard. I was trying to figure out how to take the buttons off of the breadboard and start to use homemade switches with conductive material around my house and what game I could create from that.

I did a little research and came across the concept of a buzzer wire game (https://create.arduino.cc/projecthub/tanishq/buzz-wire-game-36e0f9?ref=part&ref_id=11332&offset=24) where it tests the stability of your hand. I liked the idea of tracing something and decided to carry over that concept into my new idea.

I ended up creating two shapes made out of conductive copper tape on different pieces of thick paper. They are interchangable when they connect to an alligator clip depending on what shape you want to trace. Then as you trace the shape with the other alligator clip the light will go on as your guide for when you are touching the shape.

The code is pretty simple it just looks for the button state based on if the alligator clip is touching the conductive material or not and then if it is the light turns on.

--

--