This Side Gig Makes Me 30$/Hour(& Free Alcohol Too!)

Photo by Louis Hansel on Unsplash

I’ve had my fair share of side gigs and part-time jobs as a financially independent college student. However, this gig, in particular, is one of my favorites. The schedule is flexible, the money is great, and did I mention that it’s super easy?

What It Is

I work as a Brand Ambassador for an agency based in Houston, Texas, sampling our products at local grocery and liquor stores. In my agency, we sample alcoholic beverages, which can be anything from chardonnay to light beer. Before my shift, I do some brief research on the product, such as its flavor profile and alcohol by volume percentage. This helps with selling the product and conversating with customers tasting the product!

My shift is 3.5 hours, with the extra half-hour for setting up and taking down my table, ice bucket, and sample cups. Depending on the grocery store or liquor store, your pay can range from 25–to 30 dollars an hour! You can bet this job is a breeze, simply pouring a beverage and talking with people.

What the Schedule Is Like

I have an online calendar portal with my agency where I can book shifts up to a month in advance. However, I will often pick up a gig a week before, as my agency has events pop up randomly. So I can grab around 3 to 4 shifts on a good month and a slower month, maybe 1.

Free Alcohol??

Yes, you read that right! Being a brand ambassador for a company that samples alcohol has its perks. First, before the demo, I purchase the product, which will be reimbursed to me by the company. Then, after the event is complete and I am done sampling for the day, I can take home whatever is leftover.

How to Find a Brand Ambassador Job

So how does one find such a job??

I found mine through Indeed.com; however, I am sure you can find several jobs by searching “Brand Ambassador” through any search engine or job board. There are several agencies to choose from! Some sample out coffee and others energy drinks.

Honestly, when I applied for a Brand Ambassador position, I didn’t think much of it, only that it paid 25–30 an hour and might help pay for my groceries. Six months later, and I’m hooked! It is an excellent side gig for anyone who wants an extra 100–400 dollars a month and gets cool products. If you like talking to people and getting free stuff, this job is for you!

--

--