Seventh Anniversary

Heather McNamara
Texts From My Teenage Son
1 min readApr 8, 2018

Today marks 7 lovely years since I began dating my wife. I got some ruffled chips with cheese flavor powders and onion dip to celebrate. In her gratitude, she ate all the intact chips before I could get to it, leaving me with small slivers of chips that were hard to dip without getting my fingers covered in onion dip.

onion dip on my fingers

We have a deeply food-based love connection and I don’t know how to interpret this gesture. I made a joke about it on twitter as I tend to use humor to mask my pain.

We’re watching true crime documentaries now. Later, we’ll probably go on a snack based date. Then we’ll top off the night by drilling our 9 year old son with reading and writing prep and then making sure he’s good and exhausted before bedtime because high stakes tests don’t take breaks for moms and their romantic snack needs.

--

--