“Touched by the gentle nature of this country”

As my body screams foreign, my heart feels welcome and my soul feels comforted.

Karin Canakes
Textura Taiwan
1 min readJan 17, 2019

--

by Karin Canakes

I am conflicted.

My mind knows my home is 7000 miles away.

My body believes that although the clock says 4:00 p.m. it is actually 2:00 in the morning.

My eyes search for letters

over and over only to come up with symbols that mean nothing to me.

My tongue tastes foods that are far from comfortable.

My ears hear language that is intimidating and difficult.

My hands touch those of strangers.

My head bows as I mimic respect.

And yet

as my body screams foreign

My heart feels welcome

My soul feels comforted

I am touched by the gentle nature of this country.

A softness that holds me

here

Whispering

Daughter

we welcome you

here.

Come and see

Isn’t she beautiful?

As these conflicting feelings grow

I am inspired.

To choose to look again

To choose to taste more

To choose to listen closely

To choose to see as much as possible

To choose to connect in areas of similarity

To choose to learn from our differences

To choose to grow.

Together.

Here.

So I can leave with a heart that’s bursting

Isn’t she beautiful?

--

--