Allow me to reintroduce myself / My name is…

author
STEEP\PITCH
Published in
2 min readMay 10, 2020

An architecture professor said to me once, “everyone says they want to write, but they never do. Just write”. It’s as simple as that, I guess. When faced with a blank page or screen, it feels like a wall you’ll never be able to get over. “What if I hate it? I’m probably going to hate it. What if I love it? Could that really happen?”

Well, fuck it. Here goes…

I’ve always wanted to write to just write; I’ve always loved writing and I’ve always done it, but I’ve always done it in service of another thing. In architecture school, I wrote a thesis book to accompany the design I would eventually finish. With my job at an architecture firm, I write way too many emails, dabble a bit on proposals, and help with the occasional white paper. And over the last 10 years, I’ve messed around writing music completely for myself.

Writing music has helped me think a lot about cadence and how the best writing really just flows, even when it doesn’t. Work writing has taught me when and how to be more succinct, and how whatever I’m feeling doesn’t matter if I don’t have the facts.

It’s all part of the process of growing and getting better, as long as you can approach everything with intentionality and recognize what skills can translate from one thing to another.

That’s what I want to do with this blog — talk about process and about intersectionality, specifically with music and architecture, both through writing and through graphic demonstrations or whatever else seems intriguing and entertaining.

Thanks, and stay tuned.

Originally published at https://www.steeppitch.com on May 10, 2020.

--

--