Lesson’s Learned — Two GI Bills? What?

One Vet’s Affairs
One Vet’s Affairs
4 min readJan 3, 2016

The Montgomery GI Bill. Also known as MGIB and Chapter 30. You pay $1200, $100 monthly, when you first join the military to have access to this education benefit. Everyone told you it was a great idea.

Maybe you did the extra $600 kicker, which would ensure you a higher monthly stipend? I did.

In exchange, you get an agreed upon flat amount, monthly, while in school. The entire time. It’s a sweet deal, but depending on the price of college, cost of living, etc, it may not be your best option.

Here enters the Post-9/11 GI Bill. Chapter 33. Same name, different game. It’s free, no $1200 required. It pays your tuition, gives you a stipend for books each semester, and provides you with E-5 w/ dependents BAH for the zip code your school is located in.

There is a ton of information online on how to get set up, which GI Bill to use for different schools, etc. So rather than covering that information, I’m going to list all the answers to the questions I had, which I could never find answer to.

On average, you use 9 months of your GI Bill per school year. I graduated in 4 1/2 years, (approximately 41 months). I was also able to squeeze two semesters of summer in there, approximately 2 months each. No one at my campus VA office had any clue if I’d get paid or not, once I exceed my 36 months. I did.

  1. If you use the Post-9/11 GI Bill, and you bought into the MGIB, you will get your $1200 back. It won’t come automatically though, you’ll need to call the VA. You won’t get your $600 kicker back.
  2. If you use 36 months of the MGIB, you can then use another 12 months of the Post-9/11, legally. Meaning that’s written down in the policy.
  3. If you use 36 months of the Post-9/11, you can keep using it past the 36 months, technically. Meaning that’s not written down anywhere.
  4. Based on numerous calls to the VA, forums posts, etc. I believe the hard number of benefits received to be 48 months.
  5. There is a difference in pay between full time and part time course load. Note that it uses up your months at the same rate. You can also use something called Round-Out, where you take a class that doesn’t apply to your major, to make sure you have full time status your last semester. You can only do this once.
  6. Don’t flunk classes. This can get difficult with the GI Bill, and retaking courses.
  7. Your GI Bill income is non-taxable. It doesn’t count as income. I worked part time/full time during summers, as a full time engineering student. When I filed taxes, I usually earned less than $14,000. That made me eligible for Pell Grants and financial aid. Note: I was over 25, so my parents income didn’t factor into my financial aid package.
  8. You can’t use your GI Bill to qualify for a loan to purchase a house or a car. It doesn’t count as income. Note: Your VA Disability does.
  9. When I had a question, I would first email my campus VA office. In California, Sac State is known for having one of the best resource centers. Legally, each college campus is simply required to have one person to process VA paperwork. It does not have to be their primary job. I’ll be honest, they usually weren’t very helpful, since the office mostly employs other students, just like me. But, I was one of the first students to use the Post 9/11 benefit, so they’ve probably gotten better.
  10. They often didn’t respond to emails, so then I would go into the office in person. Calling also works. Note: I was going to apply to UC Davis, and could never get ahold of their “VA Person”. I’ve been told that people call Sac State, simply because people answer the phone.
  11. If they can’t answer your question, you can always post a question on the VA GI Bill Forum. I’ve had mixed results with this. Calling the VA is more reliable, although answers given on the phone are somewhat inconsistent. I recommend asking for a name and a call back number, and documenting what their answer was.
  12. Random google searches are my last resort. Reading actual policy language allowed me to learn about Round Outs. (I was a bored college student, trying to maximize my benefits. Don’t judge me.) Reddit and various other forums tend to have questions posed and mixed responses. Ironically, no one ever goes back and answers their original question.
  13. Talk to other Vets in your classes. They often have tips and advice based upon their own experience. Or simply ask me.

A random, non related side note. DON’T BUY BOOKS FROM THE BOOK STORE. In fact, don’t rent books from the book store. Simply buy the previous edition, used online. Maybe two editions ago. On average, I get my books for $5. I then use the library, where the professor has stashed a copy of the book, to clarify any discrepancies.

--

--