VA Disability 101

One Vet’s Affairs
One Vet’s Affairs
3 min readFeb 14, 2016

I intend to cover a little bit of the process, a little bit of the perks, and a little bit of random knowledge. Ask questions in the comments if I missed something.

I’m guessing if you have any interest in this article, you’re in one of the following categories:

  1. You’re going to get out of the service in a few months
  2. You got out, went through the motions of filing for disability, and are researching what’s next
  3. You got out, and didn’t do any of the stuff the VA advisor told you to do
  4. You’re a rockstar and did everything you’re supposed to. Congrats.

Let’s cover each of the above topics.

You’re about to get out

Make sure you get everything documented in your medical record. Go and see medical and tell them everything that’s wrong with you. Make sure it’s in writing. If it’s not in your medical record, your problem doesn’t exist.

I was prescribed medication by my boat Doc for over a year. Guess what, that never went into my record. And because I wasn’t showing symptoms at time of my medical evaluation, and it wasn’t in my record, I was not rated.

Make all of your appts for evaluation while you’re still active duty. If you wait, if you miss them, if you don’t do this, it will be really, really difficult to knock this shit out at a later time. Talk to the VA rep. They are your best friend.

ALSO, MAKE COPIES OF YOUR MEDICAL RECORD.

What’s next

After you get all of your issues evaluated, hang out and wait. I think they say 90 days. Expect 120 days. You’ll get a big packet in the mail. Make sure your address is current, or forwarded properly. This packet is what you’ve been waiting for.

This will tell you everything that you have been rated. 0%’s are a good thing. That means if your hip fails in 20 years, you can use the VA to get it taken care of.

(Whether or not it’s in your best interest to use the VA is another story).

If you disagree with a rating, make sure you have evidence to back up your claim. Be prepared to wait another 90 days for anything you challenge. Talk to the VA Rep for more details.

You’re starting from scratch because you didn’t do it while you were active duty.

Get ahold of your local VA rep. Make sure you have those copies of your medical record. Start with the advice from above. It’s going to take you like a year.

DON’T MISS YOUR APPOINTMENTS

How do I increase my rating

I was rated 0% for my back. I literally throw out my back every 6 months, all based on an injury from bootcamp. I had it documented in the military.

I made an appointment through ebenefits, went to an eval, and the nurse asked me if I had any current documentation. I didn’t. Every time I throw out my back, I lay on the floor for a few days, but I don’t ever go see the doctor.

LESSON LEARNED: GO SEE THE DOCTOR, ALWAYS DOCUMENT YOUR SHIT.

I was still able to get it increased from 0% to 10% because of my range of motion, x-ray, and the fact that it was linked to me through a 0% rating.

So where can you research VA Disability?

http://vets.yuku.com/: This is by and large the best resource on the internet.

Reddit: (literally search engine “Reddit VA Disability”)

Use the above resources if you want to figure out how to increase your rating, because your issue is getting worse. Or use the above resources to better understand how the VA rates issues. Read the specific evaluation language for whatever issue you’re trying to get rated.

What can I do with VA Disability Benefits?

  1. Start a business. Seriously. $100 billion is set aside for small business. A disabled veteran small business enterprise is a great way to begin your post military career. Go to SBA.gov for more information.
  2. Get a national parks pass.
  3. Go to your state’s specific VA website. Many states offer many different benefits that are unique.
  4. Invest your disability into an IRA. Make it work for you.
  5. Apply for a federal job, or government job. You will get preference.
  6. Go to college and get priority veteran registration.

For all of the above stuff, use your ebenefits site to generate the letters needed to support this. The link:

How much will I get paid?

Look it up on online.

--

--