A Few Words Encouraged Me to Keep Going Despite All Odds

When and why to encourage others

Fiza Ameen
Thank You Notes
4 min readJul 31, 2021

--

Image by Pezibear from Pixabay

“The smallest act of kindness is worth more than the grandest intention.” — Oscar Wilde

Encouraging others is a move for self-encouragement. As this world is small, and deeds do find their way back.

I’m in my early twenties and in your twenties, life is rocky. I have had enough awful days in these years. Whenever my life takes a turn, I’ve learned to hold on to some encouraging words. Whenever I took a risk, withstood some oddity, or even aspired for a goal that seemed out of my reach, I always got little encouraging words at least from one person.

And in those days, little words kept me going.

Whether they were from parents, siblings, teachers, friends, they were enough to keep the ball rolling for me.

I consider myself bestowed, as I was never alone. At least one person was there to just tell me,

“I believe in you. You are doing better than you think.”

Every time I thought of giving up, those words echoed in my mind. As well as reminded me to not disappoint those who believe in me. Reassuring words helped me to regain my courage, hope and helped me to keep going.

I honor and thank every entity that sent favors my way.

Now, when each day adds maturity to my life, I give as much encouragement as I can. Whether some junior, friend, or even elder is stuck at something, I’m there to motivate and boost up their morale — to tell them I had been in the worst trials, and there is no reason to give up just because it seems tough.

When to encourage:

Even though in every stage of life, we need someone’s encouragement. But for a beginner, these words are gems.

When someone starts a journey, there starts a battle for the inside and outside world. That is the time when you and I can sparkle sunshine in darker days of that person.

A person who’s probably on verge of giving up would have to reconsider his decision by those few words.

Your words stand a fair chance to help him win at least inner battles. He might put his heart and soul in the matter at hand, stimulated by your words. And odds of winning battles in the outside world increase when things are done by heart.

Fate encourages a beginner sometimes by luck while at other times, it tests a beginner’s stamina by tough trials.

But there is always a way as long as there is perseverance.

So, your few words might help someone who’s battling tough days. So, consider encouraging someone who truly needs it.

Why encourage others?

When you encourage others, you are investing in a profitable business. You are in fact helping yourself.

Here are the two reasons to encourage a struggling beginner,

  1. Fate never takes anything for granted. When you do something for others, fate helps you in matters that seem beyond your control. When you encourage others, fate guides other humans to encourage you. Fate has mysterious ways to pay you back. So, while encouraging someone who truly needs it, you are doing a favor to yourself.
  2. You are writing your name in that person’s heart with permanent ink. No one can erase that name, nor that human will ever forget you. You have assisted him with his battles and he’ll never forget you for that. As I’m writing this, faces and names (in the case of virtual helpers) are springing into my mind along with reminiscent smiles. Tough days told me not to undervalue those who spared some time to boost my morale. Even though I’ve never got to meet some of them more often, but I am grateful and appreciate them for their help.

There is no other thing I need in my life except for encouragement, and no other thing I want to offer as urgently.

If it were possible, I’d choose to encourage everyone who has got to pursue a tough road.

Takeaways:

  1. Consider encouraging someone who is a rightful candidate.
  2. Fate will pay you back for your kindness.
  3. You are investing in a sincere and everlasting friendship.

“A kind gesture can reach a wound that only compassion can heal. ”— Steve Maraboli

I’m writing this to honor those who might have encouraged perseverance in me or in any battling soul.

Thank you Trista Signe Ainsworth for your encouraging and supportive words and for this home-like publication.

--

--

Fiza Ameen
Thank You Notes

On Medium, I write to simplify the patterns for you (without over-simplifying them)| 1X top writer in Books| Find my blog: https://n9.cl/techpicking