Inspiration | Reflection

Aiming for Rejection in 2022

In response to Coffee Challenge: Why I want to be a better me in 2022

Ellie Jacobson
Thank You Notes
Published in
4 min readDec 23, 2021

--

“When you give yourself permission to communicate what matters to you in every situation you will have peace despite rejection or disapproval. Putting a voice to your soul helps you to let go of the negative energy of fear and regret.”
― Shannon L. Alder

The Aim

My aim for 2022 is to run away from my comfort zone like it’s a building on fire. Where am I running? To the land of rejection, where I will settle in 2022.

Why rejection?

My focus in the upcoming year is to submit my writing to literary magazines and journals. One outcome of submitting your work is rejection. If I make a goal of 50 rejections, for example, that means I’m living outside my comfort zone, which could mean my work is rejected or accepted.

Submitting my work=possible rejection or possible acceptance.

Not submitting my work=dead end. No possibilities.

--

--

Ellie Jacobson
Thank You Notes

Editor at Flash Fiction Magazine & Intrepidus Ink | Flint & Steel editor | MFA candidate working on first novel | mom to 2 kitties, 2 teenage sons & many cats