My Grandma’s Hands Were Hard Working Yet Gentle

Her style filled the room with love. Thank you, Grandma. If I could only have one more kiss, hug, or bite!

Kris Bedenian
Thank You Notes

--

Author’s Grandmother
Author’s Grandmother

“If God had intended us to follow recipes, He wouldn’t have given us grandmothers.”
– Linda Henley

My Story

Baking is a science that only grandmas have entirely figured out. It takes years of practice and patience.

The kitchen from my childhood is forever etched in my memory. The comfort of the good old days still warms my heart. I’m writing this as a Thank You Note to my Grandma.

You are in for a treat. I can still see, smell, touch, taste, and even hear the loving laughter of my grandparents’ kitchen back in the ’70s.

Everyone loved her rhubarb pie because of the 10 pounds of sugar and lard. It’s bound to lure you as well.

She usually baked her pies in a 13-by-9-inch pan. A pie plate was never nearly big enough. We didn’t have a huge family, but the kitchen was always full.

I don’t remember too much of the process of baking, but the tasting still leaves a loving warmth on my tongue. Do you have a family recipe that warms your heart?

--

--

Kris Bedenian
Thank You Notes

I’m a writer who has journaled for 26 years. My battle with breast cancer has given me a new perspective on life. Writing is a way for me to give back.